Vote for change, build a ‘new Bihar’, Sonia Gandhi appeals to electors

Congress president Sonia Gandhi. File   | Photo Credit: PTI

Accusing the Nitish Kumar government of being steeped in ‘arrogance and ego’, Congress president Sonia Gandhi on Tuesday appealed to the electors to vote for ‘mahagathbandhan’ (grand alliance) and build a ‘new Bihar’.

She issued a video appeal ahead of the first phase of Assembly election on October 28 and asked people to vote against the government whose “actions and intentions are questionable”.

Bihar Assembly election: Phase I campaign ends

“Today, the Bihar government, steeped in power and arrogance, has gone astray. Neither they speak well nor do they do any good. Workers are helpless, farmers are harassed and the youth are disappointed today. The fragile state of the economy overshadows the lives of the people and there is a serious crisis for the sons of the soil. Dalits and Mahadalits have been left on the verge of misery and backward sections of society are also victims of this plight,” Ms. Gandhi said in her message.

“The voice of the people of Bihar is with the Congress grand alliance. This is the call of Bihar today.”

She accused the governments of Delhi and Bihar of being ‘bandi’ or ‘lockdown’ governments — demonetisation, shutdown, economic shutdown, farms captive of new laws and a lockdown on employment and earnings.

“That’s why the people of Bihar are ready to create a new Bihar. Now change is in the air. Change is passion, energy, new thinking and power. Now is the time to write a new script of change,” Ms. Gandhi said.

Bihar Assembly elections | Millennial politicians are determined to take over reins, says Prof Ashwani Kumar

Though Bihar had immense qualities in its hands, skill, strength and the power to construct, it had always had to deal with migration, unemployment, inflation and starvation.

“The inked finger that votes now will ask questions: The question of unemployment, question to save farming, the question about earning and employment, about education, health and industry. The question is to stop the unbridled crime. The question is on dictatorial governance,” she said.

Of the 243 Assembly seats, the Congress is contesting 70 seats as part of the grand alliance led by the Rashtriya Janata Dal and comprising the Left parties, including the CPI, the CPI (M) and the CPI (ML).

The Bihar Assembly election will be held in three phases on October 28, November 3 and 7 and the counting will take place on November 10.


This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 5, 2020 11:32:15 AM |

Next Story