AP Cabinet: Naidu, Pawan Kalyan, Lokesh and 22 MLAs to take oath

Pawan Kalyan is expected to take oath as Deputy CM. 17 new faces in the Cabinet.

Updated - June 12, 2024 10:55 am IST

Published - June 12, 2024 07:38 am IST - VIJAYAWADA:

TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu and Jana Sena chief Pawan Kalyan during the NDA MLAs meeting, in Vijayawada on Tuesday, June 11, 2024.

TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu and Jana Sena chief Pawan Kalyan during the NDA MLAs meeting, in Vijayawada on Tuesday, June 11, 2024. | Photo Credit: ANI

Chief Minister designate and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) national president N. Chandrababu Naidu,  Jana Sena Party (JSP) president Konidela Pawan Kalyan, TDP General Secretary Nara Lokesh and 22 MLAs are set to swear in as Cabinet Ministers at 11.27 am near Kesarapalli IT Park on the outskirts near here on Wednesday. Pawan Kalyan may take oath as Deputy Chief Minister as per sources.

The oath taking ceremony will be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union ministers Amit Shah and JP Nadda among other leaders. The other celebrities to take part in the high profile event include Megastar Chiranjeevi, Super Star Rajnikanth, Ram Charan, Jr. NTR, Allu Arjun, M Mohan Babu and others.

The party has released the list after 1 am on June 12 post discussions with Uunion Ministers Amit Shah and JP Nadda over selection of candidates from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) late last night. Along with Mr. Naidu, 24 MLAs from NDA are scheduled to take oath as ministers. The list includes 21 MLAs from TDP, three from JSP and one from BJP. There are 17 new faces to take oath as Ministers.

The three members from JSP include chief Pawan Kalyan, party political affairs committee chairman Nadendla Manohar and Rajahmundry Rural MLA Kandula Durgesh. JSP won 21 Assembly seats, all the segments it contested. Dharmavaram MLA Satya Kumar Yadav from BJP is the lone MLA from the party who would be taking oath as minister.

The TDP MLAs finalized for ministerial berths are Kinjarapu Atchannaidu, Nara Lokesh, Kollu Ravindra, Ponguru Narayana, Vangalapudi Anita, Nimmala Ramanaidu, NMD Farooq, Anam Ramanarayana Reddy, Payyavula Kesav, Anagani Satya Prasad, Kolusu Parthasaradhi, Kola Balaveeranjaneya Swamy, Gottipati Ravi, Gummadi Sandhyarani, BC Janardhan Reddy, TG Bharath, S Savitha, Vasamsetty Subhash, Kondapalli Srinivas and Mandipalli Ramprasad Reddy.

Caste equation

Going by the caste equation, besides Mr. Naidu, the Cabinet includes four ministers from Kamma community – three from TDP, Payyvula Kesav, Nara Lokesh and Gottipati Ravi and Nadendla Manohar from JSP. Four names are in the list from Kapu community includes Konidela Pawan Kalyan and Kandula Durgesh from JSP and P Narayana and Nimmala Ramanaidu from TDP.

Three members selected from Reddy community are Anam Ramanarayana Reddy, Mandipalli Ramprasad Reddy and BC Janardhan Reddy. Eight members from BC communities could find place in the Cabinet – K. Atchannaidu, Kondapalli Srinivas, Vasamsetti Subhash, Kollu Ravindra, Kosulu Parthasaradhi, Anagani Satya Prasad, S. Savitha and Satya Kumar Yadav. TG Bharat from Vysya community and NMD Farooq from minorities were among the list.

While two members are from SC community - Vangalapudi Anita and Dola Balaveeranjaneya Swamy, the Cabinet has one representation from ST – Gummadi Sandhya Rani.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.