Pawan Kalyan named Andhra Pradesh Deputy CM as Chandrababu Naidu allocates portfolios for ministers

The actor-turned-politician has been allotted Panchayat Raj and Rural Development, Environment, Forests, and Science and Technology portfolios. Chandrababu Naidu’s son Nara Lokesh will handle HRD and IT Ministry

Updated - June 14, 2024 05:25 pm IST

Published - June 14, 2024 04:47 pm IST - Amaravati

Janasena chief Pawan Kalyan has been named as the Andhra Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister.

Janasena chief Pawan Kalyan has been named as the Andhra Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister. | Photo Credit: K.V.S. Giri

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu has allocated ministries to his 24 Cabinet colleagues on June 14, 2024. The JanaSena Party (JSP) chief Pawan Kalyan has been made Deputy Chief Minister besides allocation of Panchayat Raj, Rural Development & Rural Water Supply, Environment, Forest, Science & Technology ministries.

While Mr. Naidu has retained General Administration, Public Enterprises and all other portfolios which were not allocated to ministers, the Telugu Desam Party national general secretary Nara Lokesh was allocated Human Resources Development, IT, Electronics and Communications and Real Time Governance.

Nadendla Manohar, the JSP Political Affairs Committee chairman, was given Food and Civil Supplies & Urban Development. The other JSP minister, Kandula Durgesh, has got Tourism, Culture & Cinematography.

BJP’s Satya Kumar Yadav was allocated Health, Family Welfare & Medical Education.

The TDP, JSP and BJP forged an alliance in the State with the sole objective of overthrowing the ruling YSR Congress Party led by its chief and former Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy. Mr. Pawan Kalyan played a key role in making the TDP led NDA (TDP-JSP-BJP Alliance) in Andhra Pradesh a reality. In the seat sharing agreement, the JSP contested 21 Assembly and 2 Lok Sabha seats and won in all segments. The TDP has won 135 Assembly and 16 Lok Sabha seats. The BJP won eight Assembly and three Lok SAbha segments in the State. The YSRCP was reduced to 11 Assembly and 4 LS seats, a drastic dip from its 151 Assembly and 22 LS seats in 2019 polls.

The TDP AP State president Kinjarapu Atchannaidu was given Agriculture, Co-operation, Marketing, Animal Husbandry, Dairy Development & Fisheries. The Information & Public Relations and Housing ministries were allocated to Kolusu Parthasarathy.

Ministry of Home Affairs & Disaster Management has been allocated to Anita Vangalapudi, while Finance, Planning, Commercial Taxes and Legislative Affairs was given to Payyavula Kesav. Municipal Administration and Urban Development was given to Ponguru Narayana. The Ministry of Water Resources and Development was allocated to Dr. Nimmala Ramanaidu.

Click here to read the full list of portfolio allocation.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.