Modi congratulates Jayalalithaa, Mamata Banerjee

While it is a comeback for Jayalalithaa and Mamata Banerjee, BJP will form government for the first time in Assam and Kerala has gone the Left way.

May 19, 2016 11:29 am | Updated November 28, 2021 12:44 pm IST

Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Based on the initial trends showing AIADMK and TMC are on verge of returning to power, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday called up both Jayalalithaa and Mamata Banerjee and congratulated them on their victory.

While it is a comeback for Jayalalithaa and Mamata Banerjee, BJP will form government for the first time in Assam and Kerala has gone the Left way.

Tamil Nadu Assembly elections

All exit polls, except one, have given the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)-Congress combine the edge over long-time rival, the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK). The incumbent Chief Minister Jayalalithaa has promised in her manifesto, free laptops to students, mobile phones for ration-card holders, and the expansion of the noon-meal scheme to include breakfast. Not to be left behind in the freebie-race, the DMK too has promised smartphones for poor families and tablets or laptops with internet connections for students.

Polling for Aravakurichi and Thanjavur constituencies have been postponed to May 23, following complaints of widespread bribes. Tenkasi constituency too saw repolling on May 18, after polling officials mistakenly counted votes polled during the 'mock poll' period.

Click >here to read live updates

Kerala Assembly elections

Will the Kerala electorate deliver a decisive verdict? Or will it throw up a fractured one as a result of a tough triangular contest? Will the Bharatiya Janata Party open its account? These are the questions that will be answered after the results of 140 seats are declared for 14th Assembly elections in the State

Will the Kerala electorate deliver a decisive verdict in the triangular fight?

Click >here to read live updates

West Bengal Assembly elections

Will the Bengal tigress get a second term or the CPI(M)-Congress combination succeed in dislodging Didi? Had Saradha and Narada swayed the electorate? How would the Muslim vote go this time? Will Narendra Modi and the BJP make a dent into the TMC-Left-Congress stranglehold on Bengal's politics?

Every question will be answered in a short while from now.

Click >here to read live updates

Puducherry Assembly elections

Opinion and exit polls suggest it is a tight race between the ruling AINRC led by Chief Minister N. Rangasamy and the Congress led by A. Namassivayam, a relative of Mr. Rangasamy.

We will know who will win the race today. Is it Mr. Rangasamy’s washing machines or Mr. Namassivayam’s 20-kg rice and 5-kg wheat? The AIADMK, which decided to fight the elections alone, vowed to phase-out liquor in big brother Tamil Nadu, but has remained silent about it here.

Click >here to read live updates

Assam Assembly elections

Counting is set to begin in the 126 Assam Assembly seats. The result will decide fate of of 525 candidates with the ruling Congress, the BJP-AGP-BPF alliance and the AIUDF.

Congress is contesting in 57 seats, the opposition AIUDF in 47, and the BJP in 35 while its allies the Bodo Peoples’ Front and the Asom Gana Parishad are in the running in 10 and 19 respectively. The CPI(M) is contesting in nine seats, the CPI in five.

The Congress, after 15 years of being in power, is threatened by the BJP, which is on course( if you believe the exit polls) to wrest control of the government for the first time in the state’s history.

Click >here to read live updates

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.