All you need to know about CUET

Answering a few frequently asked questions about the new entrance exam

April 16, 2022 03:26 pm | Updated 03:26 pm IST

Admissions to Central Universities will be based on this exam.

Admissions to Central Universities will be based on this exam. | Photo Credit: Pichumani K.

The Common University Entrance Test (CUET) is a national-level exam for admission to undergraduate courses in all Central Universities of India, and some other participating institutes. The University Grants Commission (UGC) has issued a new notification requiring students who want undergraduate admission in any of the central universities to take the exam.

Dates: The exact dates have not been released yet, however; the exam will be held in the first week of July.

Format and marking pattern: It will be a computer-based test with multiple choice questions, and will be available in 13 languages: Hindi, English, Marathi, Gujarati, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Malayalam, Urdu, Assamese, Bengali, Punjabi, orOdia. Correct answers will be given five points (+5). There is negative marking; one point will be deducted for each wrong answer. Unanswered questions will not be graded. 

The exam will be held in two parts: the firstfrom 09:00 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. (195 minutes), and the second from 03:00 p.m. to 06:45 p.m. (225 minutes). Part One consists of Section IA language, two domain subjects, and the General Test. Part Two consists of one or two language/s from Sections IA and/or IB, and the remaining three or four domain subjects. The time given is the maximum time a student will spend, if they choose to appear for all nine papers. Individual duration will vary based on the number of subjects the student chooses.

Centres: The exam will be held in 547 cities in India and in 13 cities outside the countries. Details can be found at (Indian cities) and (Outside India). 

Which subjects to choose: Prepare a list of universities/ courses you wish to apply to. Each will have its own set of subjects required. For example, one may require students to take one language, one domain, subject, and the General Test for course X, while another may require two domain subjects and the General test. The student then must take three exams: one language, two domain subjects, and the General test.

Merit list: The NTA has no role in preparing a merit list, and the candidate will just get the scorecard. Concerned universities may have further screening processes or may directly use the CUET scores to prepare their own merit lists.  

Preparation: Follow textbooks prescribed by the NCERT. These can be found at OR Also look for online platforms for additional study materials and support. Book practice sessions with the National Testing Agency (NTA), at their Test Practice Centres. Check the NTA website for details on TPCs ( 

Most State/ private/ deemed-to-be universities are still following their old admission processes. The board exam results will come in handy for admission to these institutions.

The writer is Chief Academic Officer, Extramarks

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.