Election Results 2024: DMK wins all seats in Chennai, BJP sweeps Bengaluru

A look at the number of seats won by the NDA and INDIA coalitions in the major southern cities 

Updated - June 06, 2024 07:53 pm IST

Published - June 04, 2024 11:49 am IST

People lined up polling booth during the Lok Sabha Poll under the Chennai North Parliamentary constituency

People lined up polling booth during the Lok Sabha Poll under the Chennai North Parliamentary constituency | Photo Credit: JOTHI RAMALINGAM B

Of the eleven constituencies in major cities of south India including Bengaluru, Chennai, Thiruvananthapuram and Hyderabad, the NDA coalition won 5 seats, with the INDIA coalition also securing an equal number of seats, while the All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen won one seat.

Also Read: Election Results 2024 LIVE updates

Compared with 2019, the NDA coalition gained one seat, while the INDIA coalition remained unchanged in these constituencies.

Also read: Karnataka Election Results 2024 LIVE updates

Table 1 | Table 1 shows the alliance-wise wins in 2024 and changes from 2019

Chart appears incomplete? Click to remove AMP mode

The Bharatiya Janata Party (NDA) swept all three of Bengaluru’s constituencies - Bengaluru North, Bengaluru Central, and Bengaluru South.

The INDIA coalition won all the constituencies in Chennai. Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (INDIA) repeated its performance in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections by bagging seats in Chennai North, Chennai Central, and Chennai South.

In Telangana, the All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen party (Coalition: Others) won the Hyderabad seat, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (NDA) secured the Secunderabad seat. The Indian National Congress won both of Kerala’s major cities - Thiruvananthapuram and Ernakulam. The Telugu Desam (NDA) won the Visakhapatnam constituency of Andhra Pradesh.

Table 2 |Table 2 shows the seat-wise winners in 2024 and 2019

In one of these eleven seats, the winning margin was less than 2.5% of the votes, and in two seats it was between 2.5% to 5% of the votes.

Table 3 | Table 3 shows the winning margin in 2024

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.