Election Results 2024: BJP wins most northern cities except Chandigarh and Ludhiana

A look at the number of seats won by the NDA and INDIA coalitions in the major northern and central cities

Updated - June 06, 2024 09:37 pm IST

Published - June 04, 2024 11:30 am IST

Women voters hold their identity cards for the camera as they queue to vote during the second round of voting near Meerut, in Uttar Pradesh

Women voters hold their identity cards for the camera as they queue to vote during the second round of voting near Meerut, in Uttar Pradesh

Of the 21 constituencies in the major cities of north and central India, including Delhi, Gurgaon, Bhopal and Lucknow, the NDA coalition won 19 seats, followed by the INDIA coalition with just two seats.

Also Read: Election Results 2024 LIVE updates

For constituency-wise results and updates, visit our Election Results page | Follow the election results live updates.

Compared with 2019, the NDA coalition’s seat tally has come down by one seat while the INDIA coalition has gained one in these 21 constituencies.

Table 1 | The table shows alliance-wise wins in 2024 and change from 2019

Chart appears incomplete? Click to remove AMP mode

The Bharatiya Janata Party (Coalition: NDA) secured wins in all seven of Delhi’s constituencies, namely Chandni Chowk, East Delhi, New Delhi, North East Delhi, North West Delhi, South Delhi, and West Delhi. The BJP had bagged all seven seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections as well.

The Indian National Congress (Coalition: INDIA) won from the Chandigarh and Ludhiana constituencies.

The BJP has secured seats in the two major cities of Madhya Pradesh - Bhopal and Indore - as well as several major Uttar Pradesh cities such as Agra, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Kanpur, Lucknow, Meerut, Prayagraj, and Varanasi. It has also won Gurgaon and Faridabad in Haryana.

Also read: Election Results 2024: Thackrey, Shinde in neck-and-neck fight in Maharashtra

Table 2 | The table shows seat-wise winners in 2024 and 2019

In 5 of these 21 seats, the winning margin was less than 2.5% of the votes.

Table 3 | The table shows the win margin in 2024.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.