RBI penalises 11 banks for violations

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has imposed monetary penalty on 11 banks for non-compliance with certain provisions on fraud classification and reporting norms.

The fines, ranging from ₹50 lakh to ₹1.5 crore, were imposed by the central bank on Bank of Baroda, Corporation Bank, Federal Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, Jammu & Kashmir Bank, Oriental Bank of Commerce, Punjab and Sind Bank, Punjab National Bank, State Bank of India, UCO Bank, and United Bank of India.

“It was observed that despite having been advised by RBI to report fraud in an account ‘immediately’ in the backdrop of Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) having initiated criminal proceedings, the banks had delayed/ did not report fraud to RBI resulting in non-compliance with directions,” the banking regulator said.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 28, 2020 9:56:41 PM |

Next Story