Intra-State e-waybills to take effect in final 8 States

As of May 30, more than 2 cr. e-waybills had been generated

The e-waybill system for intra-State movement of goods will be implemented for the final eight States over the first three days of June, the Centre announced on Thursday.

The new system would be implemented for intra-State transport in Chhattisgarh, Goa, Jammu & Kashmir, Mizoram, Odisha, and Punjab on June 1, in Tamil Nadu on June 2 and in West Bengal, on June 3.

“As on May 30, 2018, e-waybill system for intra-State movement of goods has been rolled out in the States of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh along with the Union Territories of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep and Puducherry,” the Centre said in a statement.

The Centre added that the e-waybill system was functioning successfully and that, as of May 30, more than 6.3 crore e-waybills had been generated, including more than two crore e-waybills for the intra-State movement of goods. “It may be mentioned that e-waybill system for intra-State movement of goods will be implemented throughout the country latest by June 3, 2018,” the Centre said.

‘Smooth functioning’

“It has now been two months since the e-waybill system was implemented and the same is working smoothly and without any glitches. On an average more than 12 lakh e-waybills are being generated every day.”

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 3, 2020 2:20:07 PM |

Next Story