Man Booker International Prize 2016 longlist announced

Photo: @ManBookerPrize  

The Man Booker International Prize has revealed the list of 13 books in contention for the 2016 Man Booker International Prize.

According to a release on the Man Booker site this was the first longlist ever to have been announced for the Man Booker International Prize, which is now awarded annually on the basis of a single book. The £50,000 prize will be divided equally between the author of the winning book and its translator, the release added.

The longlist has been chosen from among 155 books.

The full 2016 longlist

José Eduardo Agualusa ( A General Theory of Oblivion), Elena Ferrante ( The Story of the Lost Child), Han Kang ( The Vegetarian), Maylis de Kerangal ( Mend the Living), Eka Kurniawan ( Man Tiger), Yan Lianke ( The Four Books), Fiston Mwanza Mujila ( Tram 83), Raduan Nassar ( A Cup of Rage), Marie NDiaye ( Ladivine), Kenzaburō Ōe ( Death by Water), Aki Ollikainen ( White Hunger), Orhan Pamuk ( A Strangeness in My Mind) and Robert Seethaler ( A Whole Life).

The longlist was selected by a panel of five judges, chaired by Boyd Tonkin, senior writer on The Independent, and consisting of: anthropologist and novelist Tahmima Anam; academic David Bellos, Professor of French and Comparative Literature and Director of the Programme in Translation and Intercultural Communication at Princeton University; editor and academic Daniel Medin, who holds a comparative literature professorship at the American University of Paris (AUP); and prize-winning British poet and author Ruth Padel.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 22, 2021 4:56:13 PM |

Next Story