Special Correspondent

  • Organisations, SHG groups, individuals named
  • Awards come with cash prizes ranging from Rs. 50,000 to Rs. 10,000

    Bangalore: Minister for Women and Child Welfare H.K. Kumaraswamy on Friday announced awards for women's organisations, Stree Shakti groups and individual women who have excelled in various fields. The awards will be presented on March 8, International Women's Day, at a public function in Bangalore.

    The Stree Shakti groups chosen for the Yashodamma Dasappa Award are Vidya Stree Shakti Group, Shikaripur, Shimoga district; Mookambika Stree Shakti Group, Madikeri; Jayamata Stree Shakti Group, Dharwad; and Gayathri Stree Shakti Group, Surpur, Gulbarga district. The award comes with a purse of Rs. 25,000 each.

    In other awards for such groups, Navachethana Stree Shakti Group, Honnali, will get a purse of Rs. 50,000; Kamadhenu Stree Shakti Group, Khanapur, will get a purse of Rs. 30,000; and Devi Rama Stree Shakti Group, Belur, will get a purse of Rs. 20,000.

    Six institutions chosen will receive a purse of Rs. 25,000 each and individual award-winning women will get Rs. 10,000 each.

    The institutions are Kuvempu Educational and Rural Development Institute, Ramdurg, Belgaum district; Dhwani Rural Development Institute, Nagamangala, Mandya district; Siddarameshwara Rural Development Institute, Raichur; Devadasi Seva Trust, Gulbarga; Ambika Mahila Institute, Bangalore; and Chamundeshwari Mahila Institute, Mysore.

    The individual award-winners are Poornima Ashok (Ramdurg), Joy (Madikeri), Navaneetha (Bangalore), Sunitha Sajjan (Gulbarga), Shanthamma (Kolar), Sujatha Kolhapure (Haveri), Shashikala Annasaheb (Belgaum) and Yashoda Jain (Hassan). Five women have been awarded cash prizes of Rs. 10,000 each. They are Parvathamma Savadgi, Belgaum (Arts), Swetha Lakshman, Bangalore (Education), Leela Kalkoti, Dharwad (Social Welfare), Neelam Malligewad, Bidar (Sports) and Pramila Purohit, Dharwad (Bravery).

    More In: Today's Paper