U.P. sets up probe panel

Atiq Khan
print   ·   T  T  

One-man commission headed by a retired High Court judge will go into causes behind Muzaffarnagar clashes, suggest preventive measures

A victim and her daughter are treated at the city hospitalat Muzaffarnagar district in Uttar Pradesh on Monday.— Photo: Rajeev Bhatt
A victim and her daughter are treated at the city hospitalat Muzaffarnagar district in Uttar Pradesh on Monday.— Photo: Rajeev Bhatt

Under fire for the communal clashes in Muzaffarnagar district, the Akhilesh Yadav government on Monday appointed a one-man inquiry commission to probe the causes behind and sequence of events leading to one of the worst outbreaks of violence in recent times in Uttar Pradesh. The commission will be headed by retired High Court judge Vishnu Sahay.

The death toll from the violence rose to over 30 following two separate incidents in Muzaffarnagar and Shamli in which two persons were killed on Monday. Twenty-eight additional companies of the Central Paramilitary Force (CPF) have been sent to the State.

The probe commission will conduct a probe into the sequence of events from August 27, 2013 — when three youths were killed in Kawal village — to September 9, 2013. State Home Secretary Kamal Saksena said the inquiry commission will identify the reasons behind the communal clashes and suggest measures to prevent such incidents. “The commission has been asked to submit its report in two months,” Mr. Saksena said.

District police chiefs of Muzaffarnagar and Shamli along with the DIG Range of Saharanpur were also shunted out by the State government, holding them prima facie responsible for failing to take preventive measures in Muzaffarnagar and its adjoining areas.

FIR filed

Meanwhile, Bharatiya Janata Party Legislature Party leader and Kairana MLA Hukum Singh and three other saffron party MLAs Suresh Rana (Thana Bhavan), Sangeet Som (Sardhana) and Bhartendu Singh ( Bijnor) are among the 40 persons named in the FIR lodged by the police in connection with Saturday’s “mahapanchayat” in Nagla Manduar. Others named in the FIR are Bharatiya Kisan Union chairman Naresh Tikait, BKU spokesman Rakesh Tikait, former Congress MP Harendra Malik, former MP Sohanveer Singh and the chairman of Ganna Samiti of Mansurpur, Shyampal Singh. Saturday’s mahapanchayat was dubbed as “Bahu-beti samman vs Hindu bachao mahapanchayat”.

The decision to hold the mahapanchayat was taken at a condolence meeting held in protest against the killing of two Hindu boys in Kawal village on August 27.

More In: Today's Paper
Group Sites
The Hindu தி இந்து Business Line Sportstar Frontline The Hindu Centre The Hindu Hub Images Classifieds RoofandFloor



Recent Article in Today's Paper

Don’t sign, CPI(M) urges President

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) has urged the President not to approve of the ordinance raising the FDI cap in the insurance s... »