University to start two colleges in Thanjavur, Dindigul districts

print   ·   T  T  

R. Krishnamoorthy

TIRUCHI: Anna University-Tiruchi plans to start two more constituent colleges in Thanjavur and Dindigul districts from the coming academic year, taking the tally of such institutions in its fold to seven.

In addition to the existing Bharathidasan Institute of Technology in the main campus, the university started four constituent colleges last year at Panrutti (Cuddalore district), Ariyalur, Ramanathapuram and Thirukuvalai last year.

Vice-Chancellor V. Ramachandran visited and approved the 25-acre sites identified for the colleges by the district administrations of Thanjavur and Dindigul. Once the alienation process is completed, the university will get sturdy temporary structures with the life of 50 years, constructed within two months in the sites for conducting the first-year classes. After construction of the main buildings during the course of a year, the structures will be converted into laboratories, the Vice-Chancellor told The Hindu.

The five programmes the university intends to offer in the two new colleges are: Civil, Mechanical, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, and Computer Science and Engineering.

In the four colleges started last year, the university will introduce the EEE programme in addition to the existing four programmes The government’s objective behind facilitating the university to start constituent colleges is to make quality education affordable to rural students.

A government engineering college is functioning at Karaikudi in Sivaganga district. In the coming years, constituent colleges will be started in Theni, Pudukkottai and Perambalur, the remaining districts in the university’s jurisdiction, the Vice-Chancellor said, informing that the government sanction for appointment of 215 new faculty members in the constituent colleges was expected shortly.

More In: Today's Paper



Recent Article in Today's Paper