It was K. Chandrasekhar Rao’s magic that acted as a catalyst for the Telangana Rashtra Samiti to sweep the Assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Telangana, while N. Chandrababu Naidu’s vision and cutting-edge strategy paved the way for the TDP to come up trumps in the residuary State of Andhra Pradesh.

The victory could not have come at a more appropriate time for Mr. Rao as the new Telangana State will commence its journey from the appointed day, June 2. Reflecting the euphoria, a sea of supporters gathered at the TRS Bhavan — the scene appeared like a fair with party workers dancing in gay abandon — to celebrate the victory. Close by, hundreds of TDP workers gathered at Mr. Naidu’s residence to savour the win chanting slogans and distributing sweets.

The Congress, which was hoping to take credit for creation of the 29th State in Indian Union, fared badly. In the 119-member Telangana Assembly, TRS won 63 seats followed by Congress with 21 and TDP-BJP (20). The Congress failed to open its account in Seemandhra region, probably for the first time in the history of AP since inception in 1956. The YSR Congress of Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy, which was touted to walk away with a victory in Seemandhra, had to settle for the second place with 67 seats behind the TDP’s 106. Two independents also won in Seemandhra.

The TRS dominated the show in the Lok Sabha elections also by bagging 11 of the 17 seats leaving the Congress with two, TDP-BJP, MIM and YSR Congress to share the remaining seats. The TDP and the YSRC slugged it out in Seemandhra in parliamentary seats but TDP-BJP stole the march by winning 17 seats, leaving the rest to YSRC. The Congress drew a blank here too.

The TDP continued its victory march in Seemandhra by emerging as the single largest party bagging over 106 out of the 175 Assembly constituencies. And the “proven track record” of his erstwhile government in putting the State on the international map was evident from the comfortable victory the TDP candidates secured.

. The Modi wave coupled with the effective transfer of votes between the two parties helped the alliance in securing impressive gains . MIM’s tally remained at seven, with YSR Congress making its debut in Telangana with three seats and CPI and CPI (M) winning one seat each.

Telangana Congress president Ponnala Lakshmaiah attributed the party rout to the Modi wave, while his Seemandhra counterpart N. Raghuveera Reddy, who like Mr. Lakshmaiah also lost the polls, said division of the State had dealt a body blow to the Congress.

Congress draws

a blank in Seemandhra

More In: Today's Paper