Day two of the TNCA I division fifth round league matches saw Young Stars claim a first innings lead of 73 against Alwarpet CC. Young Stars were bowled out for 196 with Sunil Viswanathan's 41 topping the scoring charts. K. Ramji (60) led Alwarpet's reply, which ended the day at 102 for two.

The stand-out performer of the day, at least statistically, was Grand Slam's M. Raja, who picked up seven wickets to bowl Jolly Rovers out for 184.

Grand Slam then proceeded to bat Rovers out of the game with Sree Vasudeva Das (83), Hemang Badani (97 batting) and J.R. Madana Gopal (51 batting) taking the outfit to 306 for five at close of play.

Parry's, in its contest against Vijay CC, could add just six more runs to its overnight score before getting bowled out for 97, with J. Kaushik (four for 21) picking up the last two wickets in four balls.

Vijay CC's batting heavyweights propelled the side to 299 for six, when skipper K.B. Arun Karthick (104) declared the innings. Maaruthi Raghav (58 n.o.), S. Badrinath (36) and Dinesh Karthik (50) also chipped in with the bat.

Indian Bank's Vijay Shankar duly completed his second century of the season but fell soon after, getting out for 109.

Vignesh Mohan scored a half century coming in at number nine to take Indian Bank to 413, when the declaration was effected. M. Prabhu finished with six wickets for India Pistons, which ended the day at 53 without loss.

Falcon CC carried its first innings' struggles to the second essay, losing six wickets with 119 runs on the board.

Globe Trotters had earlier accumulated a first innings lead of 105, thanks in main to Venugopal Rao's unbeaten half-century.

Falcon's bowling was spearheaded by Ragil S. Shah, whose six-wicket haul, like Prabhu's, was his third five-for of the season.

At MAC, Rohan Prem (105) pushed on from his overnight score of 62 to lift IOB to 210 in its first innings.

Aruna CC was in a spot of bother, losing six wickets for 108 runs in its reply.

The scores (Day two, Round five):

At SRMC (Turf): Alwarpet CC 123 and 102 for two in 32.3 overs (K. Ramji 60) vs. Young Stars 196 in 80.1 overs (Sunil Viswanathan 41, Prashanth K. Varma four for 97).

At CPT-IP: Indian Bank 413 for nine decl. in 160.2 overs (Vijay Shankar 109, B. Indrajith 63, E. Suresh 74, Vignesh M. Mohan 50 n.o., M. Prabhu six for 138) vs. India Pistons 53 for no loss in 20 overs.

At Pachaiyappa's: Falcon CC 77 and 119 for six in 56 overs vs. Globe Trotters 182 in 75 overs (Thalaivan Sargunam 40, Y. Venugopal Rao 56 n.o., Ragil S. Shah six for 60).

At MAC: IOB 210 in 126.4 overs (Rohan Prem 105, C. Suresh 46) vs. Aruna CC 108 for six in 45 overs.

At Murugappa: Parry's 97 in 62.5 overs (J. Kaushik four for 21) and four for no loss in 3.4 overs vs. Vijay CC 299 for six decl. in 78 overs (K.B. Arun Karthick 104, Dinesh Karthik 50, Maaruthi Raghav 58 n.o.).

At RKM-Viveka: Jolly Rovers 184 in 59.1 overs (K.H. Gopinath 76, N. Einstein 73, M. Raja seven for 43) vs. Grand Slam 306 for five in 80 overs (K. Shree Vasudeva Das 83, Hemang Badani 97 batting, J.R. Madana Gopal 51 batting) .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper