Yogesh Dongre of Vidarbha claimed his maiden National title and holder Rashmi Kumari of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) won her sixth crown, in the S.P. Sampathy memorial 43rd senior national and inter-state carrom championships which concluded here on Friday.

Dongre’s best show prior to this was making the last four of the West Zone championships two years ago. But on Friday, the 27 year-old-man was in his element as he shocked the second seed and holder K. Srinivas in three games in the final.

Rashmi Kumari beat her teammate S. Vinitha in straight games to retain the title. Tamil Nadu’s Balakotaiah and Sobha Kamath of Maharashtra won the veteran men’s and women’s titles respectively.

The results:

Men’s singles final: Yogesh Dongre (Vidarbha) bt K. Srinivas (PSPB) 23-10, 11-15, 20-10. Third place: Riyaz Akbar Ali (Air India) bt Md. Gurfan (AI) 25-10, 10-25, 25-5. Semifinals: Srinivas bt Gurfan 20-19, 22-9; Dongre bt Riyaz Akbar Ali 18-13, 8-25, 24-14.

Women’s final: Rashmi Kumari (PSPB) bt S. Vinitha (PSPB) 19-12, 24-2. Third place: Kavitha Somanchi (RBI) bt Tuba Sehar (Chandigarh) 22-24, 23-22, 23-14. Semifinals: Rashmi Kumari bt Tuba Sehar 25-5, 25-0; Vinitha bt Kavitha 18-13, 25-0.

Veteran men’s final: Balakotaiah (TN) bt Babulal Shrimal (Maharashtra) 16-13, 25-12. Third place: Naresh Rathod (MPSCB) bt Saleem Akbar Ansari (Jain Irrigation) 8-23, 25-13, 18-6. Semifinals: Bakakotaiah bt Rathod 24-7, 24-6; Shrimal bt S.A. Ansari 25-15, 15-2.

Veteran women’s final: Sobha Kamath (Maha) bt Prabha Naidu (Chattisgarh) 25-10, 24-4. Third place: Parvathi Rama Bhat (Karnataka) bt V.S. Deskar (RBI) 25-0, 24-4. Semifinals: Sobha bt Parvathi 25-16, 15-2; Prabha bt Deskar 13-10, 25-2, 25-5. — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper