Winning start for Tamil Nadu

  • Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  
Tamil Nadu's Murali Vijay sends one over the fence against Andhra on Sunday. — Photo: V. Ganesan
Tamil Nadu's Murali Vijay sends one over the fence against Andhra on Sunday. — Photo: V. Ganesan

Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, and Kerala made winning starts in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (South Zone) inter-State Twenty20 tournament here on Sunday.

Tamil Nadu's 84-run win over Andhra at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium was comfortably achieved. Captain M. Vijay led the way, first winning the toss and then making 60 in 38 balls with five fours and three sixes.

His partner in a 96-run stand for the first wicket was S. Anirudha, who contributed a chancy 34-ball 50 (4x4, 3x6). Both openers did well to score quickly on a slow track, their runs coming at a rate of nine an over.

Andhra's 19-year-old left-arm spinner S.H. Srinivas struck twice in an over, having Anirudha caught at short third-man and Abhinav Mukund at short extra-cover.

But Dinesh Karthik, who walked in at four, took control of the innings with 42 from 24 balls (2x4, 2x6). Tamil Nadu ended with 172 for seven from 20 overs.

Srinivas returned figures of four for 27 on debut. Medium-pacer S. Noushad, also making his debut, took two wickets.

Another debutant, Tamil Nadu's Sunny Kumar Singh, shone in the second part of the match. The 22-year-old seamer attacked the stumps and clean-bowled A. Rakesh and Y. Gnaneswara Rao in the space of four balls. He could have had another, but a close shout for lbw was turned down.

The experienced Ganapathy Chandrasekar claimed three wickets. Abhinav's part-time leg-spin fetched him two scalps before Andhra finished on 88 for nine.

In Sunday's other matches, Karnataka registered a 40-run win over Goa thanks to Stuart Binny's all-round performance (49 and four for 14) and Kerala defeated Hyderabad by three wickets in a last-ball finish.

The scores: At MAC: Hyderabad 119 for seven in 20 overs (Syed Quadri 50) lost to Kerala 120 for seven in 20 overs (V.A. Jagadeesh 49). Points: Kerala 4, Hyderabad 0.

At MAC: Tamil Nadu 172 for seven in 20 overs (S. Anirudha 50, M. Vijay 60, Dinesh Karthik 42, S.H. Srinivas four for 27) bt Andhra 88 for nine in 20 overs (Ganapathy Chandrasekar three for 16). TN 4, Andhra 0.

At Murugappa: Karnataka 170 for eight in 20 overs (Ganesh Satish 38, Manish Pandey 49, Stuart Binny 49, Saurabh Bandekar four 42) bt Goa 130 for nine in 20 overs (Sagun Kamat 32, Stuart Binny four for 14). Karnataka 4, Goa 0 .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

A MOTHER AND A MENTOR:Sushila Viswanathan, seen congratulating Anand in 1991, groomed the chess whiz in his formative years and was a constant source of encouragement to the five-time world champion.— THE HINDU PHOTO ARCHIVES

Viswanathan Anand’s mother passes away

Sushila Viswanathan, mother of five-time world chess champion Viswanathan Anand, passed away here on Wednesday. She was 79.Hailing... »