West emerges runner-up

print   ·   T  T  
GOTCHA: South Zone’s Vidyut spooned one back to Munaf Patel, who made no mistake.
GOTCHA: South Zone’s Vidyut spooned one back to Munaf Patel, who made no mistake.

Principal Correspondent

Bangalore: There was some belated cheer for the West Zone team as it emerged runner-up in the Deodhar Trophy tournament, which concluded with the final round of matches at Bangalore and Visakhapatnam.

West defeated South by 26 runs at the Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Wednesday, to gain four points and take its tally to 13. It secured the second spot behind champion Central Zone (17 pts.). South stayed at three points from four matches.

Chasing West’s 272, South struggled for a toehold all through despite skipper S. Badrinath chipping in with a 64 (81b, 3x4) that promised more before being cut short by a needless run-out. South scored 246 in 49.4 overs.

The chase ran into rough weather early on as Robin Uthappa snicked Ajit Agarkar, Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan spooned one back to Munaf Patel and M. Vijay chanced his arms early.

Dinesh Karthik and Arjun Yadav struck cameos but that was hardly adequate. Badrinath initially pocketed the singles before driving Siddharth Trivedi past the ropes. But in the slog overs, Gnaneshwar Rao after hoisting Munaf over the mid-wicket fence, tapped one to A. Rahane at point and set off for a run that sealed Badrinath’s and South’s fate.

Earlier after South opted to bowl, southpaw Abhishek Nayar’s 90 (81b, 6x4, 2x6) helped West score 272 in 49.5 overs.

Picture of confidence

Abhishek was a picture of confidence and he also turned on the heat, belting a six off Robin Uthappa. The West innings was in a spot of bother at 165 for six in the middle overs before Abhishek found an ally in skipper Ajit Agarkar (24). The duo’s 66-run seventh-wicket partnership stabilised the innings and set the team on the path to a big total.

The scores:

West Zone: Parthiv Patel c Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan b Sarvesh Kumar 29, A. Rahane c P. Ojha b Vinay Kumar 20, Rohit Sharma c & b P. Ojha 33, Venugopala Rao b Gnaneshwar Rao 24, Abhishek Nayar c Vidyut b Vinay 90, Pinal Shah c & b Gnaneshwar Rao 0, Yusuf Pathan c & b Vinay 11, A. Agarkar b Kalyan Krishna 24, M. Parmar c Gnaneshwar Rao b P. Ojha 4, S. Trivedi c Gnaneshwar Rao b Kalyan Krishna 9, Munaf Patel (not out) 2. Extras (lb-7, w-19) 26. Total: (in 49.5 overs) 272.

Fall of wickets: 1-49, 2-67, 3-105, 4-131, 5-132, 6-165, 7-231, 8-236, 9-269.

South Zone bowling: Vinay Kumar 9.5-1-43-3, Kalyan Krishna 9-0-64-2, Sarvesh Kumar 7-0-32-1, Gnaneshwar Rao 10-0-54-2, P. Ojha 10-1-43-2, R. Uthappa 4-0-29-0.

South Zone: R. Uthappa c Parthiv Patel b Agarkar 9, Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan c & b Munaf 19, M. Vijay c Yusuf Pathan b S. Trivedi 15, S. Badrinath (run out) 64, Dinesh Karthik lbw b Yusuf Pathan 25, Arjun Yadav c R. Sharma b Agarkar 39, Gnaneshwar Rao c Munaf b Trivedi 29, Vinay Kumar c Parthiv b Munaf 1, P. Ojha (run out) 10, K. Krishna b Trivedi 8, Sarvesh Kumar (not out) 7. Extras (lb-3, w-17) 20. Total: (in 49.4 overs) 246.

Fall of wickets: 1-28, 2-49, 3-51, 4-118, 5-179, 6-198, 7-210, 8-217, 9-236.

West Zone bowling: Munaf 9-1-33-2, Agarkar 9-0-46-2, S. Trivedi 9.4-0-38-3, A. Nayar 3-0-21-0, M. Parmar 10-0-55-0, Y. Pathan 6-1-26-1, Venugopala Rao 3-0-24-0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Former Test players to be consulted to pick next India coachGag orders on players, coaches to be removed

Fans, game to be BCCI’s priority, says Thakur

‘No witch-hunt against Srinivasan’ »