VISAKHAPATNAM: West Bengal Circle made it three-in-a-row in the all-India postal cricket tournament, beating Andhra Pradesh by 89 runs in the final of the 23rd edition of the tournament at the Port stadium here on Wednesday.

Tirtha Roy cracked an unbeaten century (128, 98b, 6x4, 5x6) and Parthasarathy Bhattacharjee made 61 (4x4) to help West Bengal, put in to bat, post 272 for five in 40 overs. Sadanand claimed three wickets.

AP could mange only183 for nine, with Vijay Kumar top-scoring with 56 (5x4, 1x6). S. Ansari and Prabir Mukherjee picked up three wickets each to restrict the host. Delhi beat last year’s runner-up Tamil Nadu by four wickets to finish third.

Chief Post Master General of AP K.V. Sundar Rajan, former president of ACA D.V. Subba Rao, Divisional Railway Manager D. Kamilla and Post Master General of Visakhapatnam M. Sampath attended the valedictory function.

The scores: Final: West Bengal 272 for five in 40 overs (Tirtha Roy 128 n.o., Parthasarthy Bhattacharjee 61, Subhojit Pal 31, Sadanand three for 53) bt Andhra Pradesh 183 for nine in 40 overs (Vijay Kumar 56, Riaz 34, Prabir Mukherjee three for 30, S. Ansari three for 33).

Special awards: Prabir Mukherjee (best bowler); T. Vijay Kumar of AP (best batsman); G. Raju of Tamil Nadu (best all-rounder) and Tirtha Roy (Player of the Tournament).

Naveen scalps five

Naveen, with a five-wicket haul, bowled Classic CC to a 51-run win over HSL “L” Series CC in the 24th annual D. Sekhar Rao memorial cricket tournament here on Wednesday.

Shankar’s all-round show was the highlight of Shankar CC’s eight-wicket win over Greenland CC in another match.

The scores: Classic CC 141 for six in 20 overs (Tulasi Rao 54, Ramesh Reddy 47) bt HSL “L” Series CC 90 in 18.5 overs (Murali 35, Naveen five for seven); Greenland CC 82 in 17 overs (Shankar four for 10) lost to Shankar CC 83 for two in 11.5 overs (Shankar 47).

Fine spell by Anil

A fine spell by Anil (six for 29) helped ECIL record a four-wicket win over National in the A-Division (one-day) knock-out cricket tournament in Hyderabad on Wednesday.

The scores: A-Division (one-day) knock-out: Hyd Patriots 210 for five (Amir 52, Deviprasad 48 not out) bt HMWSSB 209 (Sreenu four for 36).

Aggarwal Srs 201 (Shanker 50) lost to Gaganmahal 202 for eight (Navdeep 55, Abhinav 56, Sandeep four for 30); National 109 (Ramana 52, Anil six for 29) lost to ECIL 110 for six (Sunil four for 28); PKCC 153 for seven (Vinay 43) bt APSRTC 101 (Ranga 50).

Southern Stars 229 for nine (Imran 82, Obaid 79, Murali four for 52) bt Loknayak 107 (Asghar five for 27).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper