Left-arm spinner N. Vignesh Ashwin (four for two) bowled RKS Kalvi Nilayam to a 90-run win over Sri Ramakrishna MHSS in a crucial semifinal clash of the CDCA inter-school non-age group cricket tournament for the TSS & Co. Trophy at the PSG Medical College grounds here on Friday.

RKS will now lock horns with Sri Jayendra Saraswathi Vidyalaya, which defeated Mani HSS by 71 runs.

The scores (semifinals):

Sri Jayendra Saraswathi Vidyalaya MHSS 153 for two in 25 overs (A. Srijaya Suriyan 54 not out, S. Dinesh Kumar 43 not out) bt Mani HSS 82 in 19.2 overs (J. Hari Krishnan four for 14).

RKS Kalvi Nilayam HSS 136 for seven in 25 overs (I. Sarpudeen 57 not out, S. Sujay three for 27, R. Nandagopal three for 38) bt Sri Ramakrishna MHSS 46 in 15.3 overs (N. Vignesh Ashwin four for 2).

Nirmal sparkles

G. Nirmal struck thrice in Madurai's 3-0 win over Coimbatore in the quarterfinal of the State junior (under-19) football championship at Udhagamandalam on Friday.

Easy for Krish ‘A'

Mohamed Anas (30 and four for 14) helped Krish ‘A' CC score a 41-run win over Care Group of Institutions in the Tiruchi DCA fifth division league-entry knockout cricket tournament recently.

The scores (knockout): Krish ‘A' CC 116 for eight in 30 overs (Mohamed Anas 30, Shidarathan four for 26) bt Care Group of Institutions 75 in 22.1 overs (N. Karthick three for 19, Mohamed Anas four for 14).

Radiant CC 187 for six in 30 overs (E. Gopinath 51, P. Anandanarayanan 41) bt Fantacy CC 122 in 25.2 overs (V.S. Senthamilselvan 33, K. Velmurugan 33, E. Gopinath three for 20).

Norman CA 94 in 24.2 overs (Kannan four for 16) lost to Clouds CC 95 for three in 14.4 overs (Mariappan 43).

Urumu Dhanalakshmi College ‘A' 121 in 24.1 overs (Balaji 48 n.o. Balamurugan four for 32) bt Gifted XI 114 in 26.3 overs (K.R. Nagarajan 36, Balaji three for four).

Eleven Diamonds CC 97 for nine in 29 overs lost to Manapparai CC 101 for four in 14.4 overs (R. Rajalingam 47); K.K. Nagar CC 130 for seven in 30 overs (Balaji 42) lost to Vasudha CC 134 for three in 20.3 overs (M. Venkatesh 46 n.o., P. Vinoth 44 n.o.).

MAM EC 131 for nine in 30 overs bt Galaxy ‘B' CC 125 in 30 overs (P. Govindaprasad 46, K. Dinesh 28, D. Prabhakaran four for 18).

Wisdom CC 164 in 29.2 overs (A. Azarudhin 26, S. Krishnakumar three for 20) bt Magnum CC 138 for nine in 30 overs (S. Krishnakumar 29, R. Mahendran four for 20).

Srirangam United CC 69 in 21.1 overs lost to Srirangam Boys HSS 70 for five in 14.2 overs (M. Vadivel three for 19).

Madan Mohan Memorial CC 56 in 22.2 overs lost to Kailasapuram CC 58 for three in 9.2 overs.

Nine Star CC 68 in 22.5 overs lost to Paramount CC 69 for two in 14.3 overs (D. Nandagopal 27).

Indian CC 63 in 22.3 overs lost to Imayam CC 64 for one in 11.2 overs.

Associated ‘B' CC 115 in 27.3 overs (Prasanna Venkatesh 40, Arivazhagan 25 n.o., Kumaresan three for 20) lost to TMR CC 116 for four in 20.4 overs (Arun Keethi 41, Dinesh Kumar 28 n.o.).

Inter-media cricket

The Coimbatore District Cricket Association will conduct the CDCA inter-media Twenty20 cricket tournament for both print and electronic media inside Coimbatore next month.

The top four finishers will take home cash prizes and trophies.

There are also special prizes for the best all-rounder, batsman, bowler, fielder and wicketkeeper.

For registration, contact the CDCA Administrative Office, C/o. Sri Ramakrishna Mills (Cbe) Ltd, Ganapathy, Coimbatore-641 006 (ph: 0422 3225656) on or before December 2.

Margocis HC wins

Margocis Hockey Club (Nazareth) won the men's hockey title in the Tuticorin district-level State Games of the SDAT Tuticorin district unit on Thursday.

The placings:


Men: 1. Youngster B C (Tuticorin), 2. Caldwell BC (Tuticorin).

Football: Men: 1. Sprittat Youth FC (Tuticorin), 2. Robinson FC (Tuticorin).

Women: 1. St. Mark's HSS (Mookuperi), 2. St. Mary's FC (Prakasapuram).

Hockey: Men: 1. Margocis Hockey Club (Nazareth), 2. St. Lasalle HSS (Tuticorin).

Women:1. Dasnevis Matha Girls HSS (Tuticorin), 2. Town Hockey Club (Tuticorin).


Men: 1. Padarnthapuli VC (Padarnthapuli, Vilathikulam) 2. VOC VC (Tuticorin).

Women: 1. St. Mary's Girls HSS (Sawyerpuram), 2. St. Mary's College (Tuticorin) .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper