Special Correspondent

India Pistons’ M.R. Shrinivas was the other century-maker

Young Stars was bundled out for 139

Chennai: S. Vidyut was unbeaten on 223 as Alwarpet, replying to Jolly Rovers’ 212, was 410 for five on day two of the third round in the TNCA first division league here.

India Pistons’ M.R. Shrinivas (102 not out) was the other century-maker on Friday.

Vidyut’s effort at the IIT-Chemplast ground has so far consumed 322 deliveries and included 27 boundaries and four sixes.

The left-handed opener added 166 with V. Maruthi Raghav (74, 108b, 12x4) for the third wicket in 39.1 balls. Huzefa Patel contributed 40. Off-spinner Kashi Viswanathan scalped three batsmen.

Handy knock

At the SRMC ground, skipper Sunil Viswanathan’s 87 (265b, 7x4) and a handy 47 from S. Tilak enabled Globe Trotters reach 330 against holder Vijay. Pacemen R. Naresh and G. Vignesh picked up three wickets each.

Vijay was 107 for three at stumps, K. Shree Vasudeva Das batting on 44.

Parry’s was 213 for seven, pursuing Aruna’s first innings 323 at MAC. S. Murali (65, 10x4, 1x6) added 84 for the fifth wicket with Kumaraguru (36 batting) in 222 balls.

Paceman T. Kumaran claimed three wickets. Earlier, Aruna was bowled out for 323; N. Rahgavendran prised out five batsmen.

With Grand Slam paceman P. Amarnath picking up four for 22, Young Stars was bundled out for 139 at the ICL-Guru Nanak ground. L.N. Prasad Reddy alone offered some resistance with an innings of 50 (101b, 9x4). Following on, the side was 85 for three.

Earlier, off-spinner K. Srinivasan and left-arm spinner L. Ganesh shared eight wickets between them as Grand Slam, 313 for seven overnight, was dismissed for 332. E. Ashwin, resuming on 75, made 87.

Shrinivas (102 not out, 117b, 11x4) and C. Karthik Kumar (53 not out, 70b, 4x4) put on 151 for the sixth wicket in 28.2 overs as India Pistons declared at 460 for five against Indian Bank at the CPT-IP ground.

Then, Shrinivas picked up three wickets with his pace bowling, reducing Indian Bank to 98 for six.

Earlier in the day, Pistons’ M. Suresh Babu, 107 overnight, was dismissed for 128 (314b, 14x4, 1x6).

Rajeshs scalp three

Eagles, resuming at 200 for five, was dismissed for 247 by IOB at the RKM-Vivekananda ground. Left-arm spinner R. Rajesh and off-spinner R. Rajesh Kannan took three wickets each. H. Narendran chipped in with 43 for Eagles. IOB was 136 for three in reply with E. Pramod Das undefeated on 71 (180b, 7x4).

The scores: At RKM-Viveka: Eagles 247 in 126.4 overs (T. Karunamurthy 75, B. Vijay Rahul 59, H. Narendran 43) vs IOB 136 for three in 61 overs (E. Pramod Das 71 batting).

At SRMC: Globe Trotters 330 in 130.3 overs (Y. Venugopala Rao 41, Gowjith Subash 43, Sunil Viswanathan 87, S. Tilak 47) vs Vijay 107 for three in 47 overs (K. Shree Vasudeva Das 44 batting).

At IIT-Chemplast: Jolly Rovers 212 vs Alwarpet 410 for five in 106 overs (S. Vidyut 223 batting, V. Maruthi Raghav 74, Huzefa Patel 40).

At ICL-Guru Nanak: Grand Slam 332 in 98.4 overs (K. B. Arun Karthik 128, Sunil Oasis 45, E. Aswin 87, K. Srinivasan four for 98, L. Ganesh four for 88) vs Young Stars 139 in 40.1 overs (L.N. Prasad Reddy 50, P. Amarnath four for 22) & 85 for three in 36 overs.

At CPT-IP: India Pistons 460 for five decl. (E. Arun Kumar 63, M. Suresh Babu 128, M.R. Shrinivas 102 not out, C. Karthik Kumar 53 not out) vs Indian Bank 98 for six in 40 overs.

At MAC: Aruna 323 in 92.1 overs (S. Anirudha 80, S.R. Ganesh Kumar 60, T. Kumaran 99, N. Raghavendran five for 87) vs Parry’s 213 for seven in 85 overs (S. Murali 65).

Santhome, PSBB in title clash

M. Prasanna’s 55 helped Santhome HSS beat DAV (Mogappair) by 148 runs, in the semifinals of the St. Bede’s Centenary Sumeru Soft under-13 cricket tournament here.

PSBB (K.K. Nagar) registered a 21-run win over St. Bede’s AIHSS, in the other semifinal.

The scores (semifinals): Santhome HSS 215 for eight in 50 overs (M. Prasanna 55, V. Vignesh 33, P. Vigneswaran 33) bt DAV Mogappair 67 in 28.5 overs (K. Ravi Kumar three for 11).

PSBB (K.K. Nagar) 149 in 45 overs (Adithya Giridhar 41, R. Akash 33) bt St. Bede’s AIHSS 128 in 45.3 overs (Dilipan 34, M. Karthik three for 29, S. Sriram three for 21).

TN posts win

Tamil Nadu beat Uthrakhand 15-6 in the 24th sub-junior National handball championship for boys, here. In the ninth mini National handball event for girls, Kerala beat Andhra Pradesh 11-8.

Other results: Boys: Delhi bt MP 21-7; HP bt Tripura 22-18; Haryana bt Kerala 21-17; Punjab bt Puducherry 13-2; Chhattisgarh bt Karnataka 26-8.

Girls: UP bt Orissa 11-3; Manipur bt Jharkhand 10-0; Maharashtra bt Karnataka 14-10; Haryana bt Uthrakhand 10-0; West Bengal bt Mumbai Handball Academy 9-4.

IB in semifinals

Thanks to Ramesh’s brace, Indian Bank stormed into the last four with a 3-0 victory over Soccer FC in the Vittal Trophy football tournament at the Nehru Stadium here on Friday. In the semifinals, Indian Bank will face SBI, while ICF will take on SAI.

Indian Bank went ahead in the 17th minute through a flag kick. Sathish Kumar’s cross was deftly right-footed by Ramesh.


The bank team attacked remorselessly and made a lot of inroads into Soccer FC’s territory, but lacked the finishing touches to make them count.

Sensing that a defender was a tad slow in receiving the ball, Santha Kumar rushed in to shoot it past the goalkeeper Arun from 10 yards.

Indian Bank was leading 2-0 at half-time. In a wonderful counter-attack towards the close, Ramesh did a solo run to complete the tally.

Saturday is a rest day. The first semifinal will be played on Sunday, followed by the second last-four match the next day. — Sports Reporter

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper