Young Stars, thanks to Wilkins Victor, and Aruna, courtesy D. Tamil Kumaran and P. Shijit Chandran, registered victories, as the ninth round of the TNCA first-division cricket league concluded here on Thursday.

Off-spinner Victor finished with a match-haul of 14 wickets — seven in each innings — in Young Stars' innings-and-85-run win over Falcon at SRMC (turf).

Left-arm spinner L. Ganesh complemented Victor's match-winning performance with six wickets.

Seamer Tamil Kumaran and off-spinner P. Sakthi claimed five wickets each to help Aruna dismiss Indian Bank for 226. Kumaran had taken four in the first innings.

Shijit scores


Pursuing a target of 176 in 30 overs, Aruna coasted home in 27 overs thanks to captain Shijit Chandran's 58-ball 79 (8x4, 3x6) and Varun Anand's 62.

Jolly Rovers secured five points against IOB thanks to the efforts of K.H. Gopinath (114) and C. Hemant Kumar (125 n.o., 152b, 14x4), while Vijay successfully resisted UFCC's push for the first-innings lead.

Vijay Shankar (84) and V. Maaruthi Raghav (113, 257b, 12x4) batted for more than five hours each to deny UFCC.

Match drawn

The match between Globe Trotters and India Pistons meandered to a draw after X. Thalaivan Sargunam made 133 (166b, 9x4, 3x6) and Anand Subramanian, 56. R. Srinivasan helped himself to an unbeaten half-century in Pistons' second innings.

Trotters had already ensured five points for the first-innings lead.

The scores (round nine, third and final day):

At IIT-Chemplast: IOB 292 and 100 for three in 36 overs (D. Pramod Doss 46 n.o.) drew with Jolly Rovers 393 for six decl. in 101.2 overs (K.H. Gopinath 114, Ashwin Venkatraman 40, C. Hemant Kumar 125 n.o.). Points: JR 5, IOB 2.

At SRMC (turf): Young Stars 401 for nine decl. bt Falcon 168 in 85.1 overs (Wilkins Victor seven for 56) and 48 in 32 overs (Wilkins Victor seven for 37). Young Stars 8, Falcon 0.

At SPIC-YMCA: UFCC (T. Nagar) 552 drew with Vijay 433 for five in 128 overs (Dinesh Karthik 44, Abhinav Mukund 79, Vijay Shankar 84, V. Maaruthi Raghav 113, S. Badrinath 45). UFCC 3, Vijay 3.

At CPT-IP: Globe Trotters 264 and 245 for four decl. in 55 overs (X. Thalaivan Sargunam 133, Anand Subramanian 56) drew with India Pistons 159 and 130 for two in 45 overs (Prashanth Ramkumar 49, R. Srinivasan 50 n.o.). GT 5, IP 2.

At Murugappa: Indian Bank 202 and 226 in 78.4 overs (D Tamil Kumaran five for 47, P. Sakthi five for 62) lost to Aruna 253 and 176 for three in 27 overs (Varun Anand 62, P. Shijit Chandran 79). Aruna 8, IB 0.

Standings (after nine rounds): Grand Slam 42, Jolly Rovers 40, Young Stars 38, India Pistons 37, Vijay 37, Globe Trotters 34, UFCC 32, Indian Bank 31, Aruna 30, IOB 28, Falcon 24, ICF 14.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper