Veterans scored a solitary goal win over Active Union in a BDFA C Division football league encounter at the football stadium in Bangalore on a rain-hit Wednesday.

The all important goal was scored in the 22nd minute by Chetan.

Heavy late-afternoon showers forced the abandonment of the third match between Shining Stars and Rangers in the 19th minute.

Earlier, Hindu Socials scored an odd goal in three win over Konkan. Jasveer and Ronney scored for the winner while Lawrence reduced the margin. All the goals came in the second half.

The results:

Veterans 1 (Chetan) bt Active Union 0; Shining Stars vs. Rangers — match abandoned in the 19th minute; Hindu Socials 2 (Jasveer, Ronney) bt Konkan 1 (Lawrence).

B div. basketball

from July 4

The Karnataka State Basketball Association will conduct the State B Division league championship for men for the Sri M.C. Srinivasa memorial trophy at the Sree Kanteerava stadium basketball courts at Bangalore from July 4 to 13.

The matches will be played on league-cum-knock-out basis.

The top two will be promoted to next season’s A division.

Participating teams:

Group A: JSC, SAI (Dharwad), IBBC, Southern Blues, Kanaka (Kolar), Viveknanda BC (Mandya).

Group B: Sports Hostel (Bangalore), Bharath S.U., Rovers (Dharwad), N.G.V. SC, Rising Stars (Mysore), K.S. Hegde (Mangalore).

Postal runs riot

Postal thumped RBI 11-1 in a D.S. Murthy and V. Karunakaran memorial hockey tournament match at the KSHA stadium in Bangalore on Wednesday.

The result: Postal 11 (Ramesh 4, Vinayak Bijwad 2, Tharanath 2, M. Naveen Kumar, Samuel Niranjan, Naveen Shekar) bt RBI 1 (Jilani).

Harsha nets three

S. Harsha continued his goal-scoring form, netting in three as St. Joseph’s Indian High School (SJIHS) defeated Maria Niketan HS 4-0 in the Hockey Karnataka-conducted inter-school tournament at the KSHA stadium in Bangalore on Wednesday.

Vishal Kumar got the other goal for the winner.

The other two matches slated for the day between St. Joseph’s Boys High School and St. Patrick’s and Evershine High School and Korathi High School ended in goalless draws.

The results:

St. Joseph’s IHS 4 (S. Harsha 3, Vishal Kumar) bt Maria Niketan HS 0; St. Joseph’s Boys HS 0 drew with St. Patrick’s 0; Evershine HS 0 drew with Korathi HS 0.

Naveen enters the final

K.S. Naveen Kumar rallied to beat B. Bhaskar in the semifinals of the State 6-red snooker ranking tournament in Bangalore on Wednesday.

With just a point on the board after the first two frames, Naveen looked down and out in the best-of-nine semifinal.

He then won five of the next six frames to finish on top.

Naveen will face I.H. Manudev in the final on Thursday. Manudev posted a comfortable victory over D. Raj Kumar in the other semifinal.

The results: Semifinals: K.S. Naveen Kumar bt B. Bhaskar 01-45, 00-66(54), 39-7, 39-24, 35-9, 10-50, 38-1, 27-26; I.H. Manudev bt D. Raj Kumar 36-22, 45-6, 39-34, 33-30, 19-61, 49-12.

Quarterfinals: D. Raj Kumar bt Michael Rebello 31-38, 48-20, 63-16, 6-31, 46-12, 28-10, 40-12; I.H. Manudev bt Jasim Tawin 39-0, 36-1, 28-19, 41-18, 66-0; K.S. Naveen Kumar bt Balaji Reddy 43-0, 38-17, 11-49, 0-29, 37-15, 0-70, 40-35, 41-1; B. Bhaskar bt Sheetal Kumar 44-00, 51-4, 31-41, 19-43, 57-8, 19-26, 37-17, 48-10.

Big win for RWFSA

Rail Wheel Factory Sports Association (RWFSA) proved too good for AGORC Recreational Club in a Group II, first division match in Bangalore recently.

The scores:

Group I: Third division: Jupiter CA 100 in 28.5 overs (Navneet 38, Sanjay Nair five for 35, Nisheet Doshi four for 45) lost to Cavaliers CC 103 for four in 20 overs (Sanjay Nair 43).

Bangalore SC 149 in 49.5 overs (Satish 51, D.R. Uday 33, L.K. Viswanath four for four, J. Karthik three for 48) lost to City Cricketers (1) 150 for nine in 42 overs (Nadeem Khan 51, Mallikarjun three for 43).

Select Cricketers 70 all out in 33 overs (Raghuveer four for 19, T.K. Ananth three for 21) lost to Rajajinagar Cricketers 73 for three in 10 overs (Sagar 39 n.o.).

Dooravani Cricketers (1) 258 for seven in 55 overs (Ritiesh 65, Akshay 59, Somashekar 43, Aiyappa 35 n.o., Aditya Reddy three for 37, Raghavendra Rao three for 70) drew with Jayanagar United Cricketers 192 for eight in 42 overs (Swapan Mitra 79 n.o., Chethan four for 34)

Group II: First division: EMIL (2) Sports Club (Mysore) 161 for eight in 40 overs (C.G. Jagadish Kumar 38, N. Nirmith 36, N. Bharath 30) lost to HAL SC 163 for three in 28.1 overs (Nishanth Shekawath 73 n.o., Sambaji 35).

Rail Wheel Factory SA 222 for six in 40 overs (Manjesh Reddy 72, S.P. Manjunath 52, M.K. Sapthagiri four for 47) bt AGORC Recreational Club 142 in 38.1 overs (Arjun Hoysala 39, D. Raghavendra 28, D.H. Sunil Kumar 25, Yere Goud four for 26, C.K. Akshay three for 14).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper