Uttar Pradesh clinched the team championship in the weightlifting event of the All-India Postal weightlifting, powerlifting and best physique tournament here on Wednesday.

Tamil Nadu finished second while West Bengal came third.

The results:

Weightlifting: 85kg: 1. G. Naga Raju (AP), 2. Rajunag (West Bengal), 3. G. Elangovan (TN).

94kg: 1. Amit Kumar Sharma (UP), 2. Ratul KR Baruah (Assam), 3. Sujit Samaddar (West Bengal).

105 kg: 1. Firoz Yunus Khan (UP), 2. R. Rajeshwar Yadav (AP), 3. Sekhar Saha (West Bengal).

+105kg: 1. Santosh Kumar Patra (Orissa), 2. P. Esakkimuthu (TN), 3. L.K. Pakel (UP).

Best weightlifter: Siva Kesava Yadev (AP).

Strong man: Firoz Yunus Khan (UP).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper