NEW DELHI: National sub-junior champion Aditya Udeshi continued his dream run by stunning sixth seeded British Grandmaster Stewart Haslinger to stay among the four leaders with three points after the third round of the Balaguer International Open chess tournament at Balaguer, Spain, on Wednesday.

Udeshi, playing white, won in 42 moves. The victory is indeed very creditable for the Mumbai-lad since his rating is 251 points below Haslinger’s 2538. Udeshi faces top seeded Bulgarian GM Kiril Georgiev in the next round.

J. Saranya upstaged eighth seeded Latvian International Master Ilmars Starostits and young Girish Koushik kept second seeded Russian GM Vladimir Burmakin busy for 89 moves before resigning.

Deepthamsh Reddy drew with 14th seeded Ukrainian GM Ruslan Pogorelov and Shalmali Gagare split a point with Bulgaria’s IM Jordan Ivanov.

Rucha Pujari, too, did very well by holding Heikki Westerinen, a modestly-rated GM from Finland.

In a game involving Indians, Pallabi Roy surprisingly held K. Priyadarshan.

Tania wins

Tania Sachdev kept alive hopes of a creditable finish in the Donostia Chess Festival by winning the eighth and penultimate round against Iulia-Ionela Ionica of Romania at San Sebastian, Spain.

The top seeded Indian has five points and shares the third spot with Russia’s Irina Zakurdjaeva.

Second seeded Frenchwoman Sophie Millet (6.5 points) defeated second-placed Russian Yana Melnikova (5.5) and needs just a draw in the final round to claim the title.

The results (involving Indians): Balaguer (third round): Aditya Udeshi (3) bt Stewart Haslinger (Eng, 2); Girish Koushik (1.5) lost to Vladimir Burmakin (Rus, 2.5); G. N. Gopal (2.5) bt Zurab Javakhadze (Geo, 1.5); Joan Fluvia (Esp, 2.5) bt Fenil Shah (1.5); Debashis Das (1.5) lost to Ramon Mateo (Dom, 2.5); Deepthamsh Reddy (2) drew with Ruslan Pogorelov (Ukr, 2); Jordan Ivanov (Bul, 2) drew with Shalmali Gagare (2); J. Saranya (2) bt Ilmars Starostits (Lat, 1); K. Priyadarshan (1.5) drew with Pallabi Roy (1.5); Heikki Westerinen (Fin, 1.5) drew with Rucha Pujari (2); Rakesh Kulkarni (1) lost to Pedro Beltre (Dom, 2); Lluis Quintas (Esp, 2) bt Shristi Shetty (1); Fermin Rodriguez (Esp, 1) lost to R. Bharati (2); Josep Pages (Esp, 1) lost to Devangi Patankar (2).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper