Time-Speed-Distance (TSD) rally is motorsport’s best bet to reach the masses, Manoj Dalal, Chief Steward of the JK Tyre TSD rally championship 2012 said here at its ceremonial flag-off on Saturday.

“A TSD rally is the only way to take motorsport to the masses, because it is not expensive. It appeals to everyone,” Dalal, a former rally co-driver, said.

“I have been in motorsport for little more than 35 years, but even today, if given a chance, I’d like to do a TSD. It challenges your skills, and it is fun. A TSD is an ideal event for a family or a group of friends,” he said.

Dalal explained that since this format tests only navigation skills, and discourages speeding, it will prove ideal for competitors who desire a taste of motorsport.

Speeding, in fact, is punished as the goal is to reach designated stops at the officially stipulated time intervals. If a team reaches its stop early, it will carry a double penalty. The Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI) official added that apart from being a casual interest, a TSD event also serves as the foundation for professional racing. “It is the basic platform. A TSD event will help you understand the details of motorsport, like how to go about a race or what the federation requirements are to qualify as a racer.”

A car of any make or segment, a special rally license obtained from the FMSCI and a one-time insurance cover for the duration of the competition is what is needed to participate in a TSD rally, Dalal pointed out. The JK Tyre national TSD rally championship was flagged off by Kannada actor Aindrita Ray, and Sunday will see the start of the first of six rounds.

The husband-wife duo of G. Satish and Savera D’ Souza, B.S. Sujith Kumar-Chidananda Murthy and Shrikanth Gowda-Girijashankar Joshi are some of the pairs who start favourites.

50 pairs will compete in the championship, including professionals, corporates and amateurs. Tata, Volkswagen and other car makers also make a presence in the field.

Ravi sizzles

Ravi Chandra’s five-for helped YMCA to a 30-run win over Deccan United CC in a Dell-KSCA Group I, fourth division league match here recently.

The scores: YMCA CC 282 in 50 overs (Supreeth 83, Nawaz 68, Srinath 30, Ravi Chandra 26 n.o., Dilip 26, Kemparaj three for 58) bt Deccan United CC 252 in 47.4 overs (Shashank 93, Bushan 58, Ravi Chandra five for 53).

Hoskote CC 287 for nine in 50 overs (Santhosh 64, Kiran 45, Shashidhar 43, Madhu 37, Nandaram Singh 27, Sunil four for 53) bt Sirurpark SC 180 in 43 overs (Yusuf Sani 51, Arvind 38 n.o., Santhosh three for 42).

Minerva CC 267 for five in 50 overs (Sapthagirish 82 n.o., Nikhil 67, Muniraju 38 n.o., Mithun 27, Shekhar 26) bt Oriental CC 206 in 48.4 overs (Dipankar 67, Ganesh Prasad 46, Gautham 31, Tarun four for 36).

Vivekananda Union CC 206 in 48.3 overs (Janardhan 38, S. Venkatesh three for 20, Karan Singhvi three for 21) bt Young Challenging Cricketers 162 in 38.3 overs (S. Venkatesh 35, N.G. Vrijesh three for 24).

Visweswarampuram CC 248 in 49.5 overs (Sachin Sudhakar 87, R. Bharath 31 n.o., Libin 30, L. Arvind 26, J. Pratheek three for 49, N.H. Suresh three for 25) bt Bangalore Star CA 226 in 47.5 overs ( D. Pratap 96, Rishab Jain 26, Sachin Sudhakar four for 43, Avinash three for 45).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper