Sports Reporter

HYDERABAD: A. Tridev of St. Joseph's High School (Habsiguda) won the chess title with five points in the YMCA annual inter-school sports festival here on Friday. P. Vivekanand (St. Peter's Model) and M. Shiva Reddy (Sister Nivedita) were second and third respectively with four points each.

The results: Chess: Boys: 1. A. Tridev (five points), 2. P. Vivekanand (4) and 3. M. Shiva Reddy (4).

Table tennis: Girls: 1. Vennela, 2. Sneha, 3. Shruthi.

Kho Kho (semifinals): Boys: Shanti Niketan bt Wesley School 'A' (Nacharam) 9-2; Wesley 'B' bt Oxford Grammar School 13-1; Girls: St. Joseph's (Ramanthapur) bt St. George's 5-1; Oxford Grammar w/o Begha's HS.

Kabaddi: Boys (semifinals): Wesley 'A' bt Brilliant Grammar School 43-8; Wesley 'B' bt Oxford Grammar 18-14.

Basketball: Boys (semifinals): Wesley 'A' bt Brilliant Grammar 43-8; Wesley 'B' bt Oxford Grammar 18-14; Girls (quarterfinals): Geetanjali Devashala 'A' bt St. George's 16-2; St. Joseph's 'B' bt Sherwood PS 14-0; St. Joseph's 'A' bt Geetanjali Devashali 'B' 16-4.

Nizamabad begins well

Nizamabad defeated Adilabad 3-0 in the inaugural match of the Hyderabad State junior inter-district hockey championship at Huzurabad (Karimnagar) on Friday. After a barren first-half, J. Mahesh Kumar, Sk. Mohammad and J. Ravinder struck once each for the winner.

In another match, a brace by winger Abhinav helped Medak register a 2-0 win over Warangal.

Rayalaseema wins

Rayalaseema recorded a nine-run win over President's XI in the inaugural match of the Andhra Pradesh State-level Kotla Vijaya Bhaskara Reddy memorial women's cricket tournament at Dhone on Friday.

The scores: Rayalaseema 134 (Geeta 39, Rajani 46, Mutyalu four for 27) bt President's XI 125 (Keertana 30, Mamata Kanuja 54).

Vijaya, Byswa clinch titles

Vijaya High School (Kapra) and Byswa Blues Club (AC Guards) won the under-16 and under-12 events of the inaugural Dhyan Chand junior open floodlit hockey tournament at the Sports Coaching Foundation (Masab Tank) on Thursday night.

Vijaya School registered a solitary goal win over MCH (Chintalbasthi) in the final round-robin league match, Abhinav Kumar scoring the match-winner in the first-half.

Earlier, Byswa Blues defeated Byswa Reds 4-1 to take the under-12 crown.

Suman scintillates

Andhra Ranji player T. Suman's all-round effort (111, 17x4, 3x6 and three for 16) was instrumental in State Bank of Hyderabad drubbing Crown CC by 165 runs in the quarterfinals of the A-Division (one-day) league (knock-out) cricket tournament here.

The scores: SBH 318 for seven (T. Suman 111 (retd), Anirudh Singh 55, T. Pavan Kumar 43) beat Crown 153 (Seshagiri 80 not out).

Wesley in final

Wesley College moved into the final of the Osmania University inter-collegiate Ranga Reddy Trophy cricket tournament with a seven-wicket win over MJ Engg. here.

The scores: MJ Engg. 167 for nine in 40 overs (A. Ponia 65, P.S. Niranjan 32) lost to Wesley 169 for three (Samiullah 55).

MCH volleyball

Municipal Corporation of Hyderabad will organise its annual open volleyball tournament, for men's teams affiliated to the Hyderabad District Volleyball Association, at the Victory Playground from February 6 to 14.

Entries close on Feb. 3 and should be sent to S.R. Prem Raj, Director of Sports, MCH, Tank Bund Office Complex. Entry forms are available at the venue and the HDVA office.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper