The best of Indian golfers — Jeev Milkha Singh, Arjun Atwal, Shiv Kapur and Jyoti Randhawa — and Daniel Chopra, will form the creamy layer of the unique 30-player field for the inaugural Shubhkamna Champions golf tournament to be held at the Noida Golf Course from December 21 to 23.

The year-ending finale follows the format of the USPGA’s season-ending Tour Championship that features the top-30 players from the Tour.

The event, though not part of the PGTI Tour, will feature all the champions from the domestic season apart from Asian Tour winners — Anirban Lahiri, Gaganjeet Bhullar, Digvijay Singh and Sujjan Singh (winner of the Taman Dayu Championship on the Asian Development Tour).

Three others — Bangladesh’s Mohd. Siddikur (seventh on the Asian Tour Order of Merit), PGTI regulars Sri Lankans Anura Rohana and Mithun Perera — will also be part of the field.

The 54-hole competition offers a purse of Rs. 60 lakh. The winner gets Rs. 10.8 lakh and the 30th placed receives Rs. 96,000.

Announcing the tournament here on Friday, Jeev said, “This will mark a milestone in Indian golf. The best Indian pro golfers will play together in a grand finale to the year.

“I am grateful to old friends Arjun (Atwal) and Daniel (Chopra) to make it all the way from Florida for a rare appearance (in India). I also thank all the other Indian pros who will make this occasion special. It’s like coming together of a large family.”

Jeev, who is committed to play four events this year, admitted that he would risk aggravating the ligament-tear to his right index finger.

Provided there are no last-minute pullouts, the event promises to be the first ever where all the champion golfers from the country will be on view.

Shamim Khan, a three-time winner this season on the PGTI Tour, heads the list of domestic champions that includes Om Prakash Chouhan, Harendra Gupta, Kunal Bhasin, Rashid Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Zamal Hussain Mollah, Abhijit Singh Chadha and Ajeetesh Sandhu.

The winners of the ongoing PGTI Players championship at Amby Valley City, the 11th TATA Open at Jamshedpur and the PGTI’s season-ending McLeod Russel Tour Championship in Kolkata will also be eligible.

To complete the field of 30 players, if needed, the next highest player on the 2012 PGTI Order of Merit will be considered.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper