BANGALORE: The cream of Indian athletes will be seen in action over the next three days as the platinum jubilee (75th) all India Railway athletics championship gets underway at the newly laid Sree Kanteerava Stadium here from Thursday.

The meet which was originally scheduled in October, was postponed due to the non-availability of the stadium, as the tracks were being re-laid.

Three-day meet

Addressing the media here on Wednesday, S.K. Gupta, Gen. Secretary, South Western Railway Sports Association (SWRSA) said, “the three-day meet will see a host of Beijing Olympians like Pramila Aiyappa, Sinnimol, Preeja Sreedharan, Ranjit M., Sushmita Singha Roy and Krishna Poonia donning their respective Railway units colours while other internationals like S. Geetha, Sowjanya M.A. Prajusha, Vilas Neelgund and Sahana Kumari are expected to keep the host South Western Railway’s flag flying high.”

Nearly 465 athletes (288 men and 177 women) are expected to participate from 16 zonal Railway units and five production units.

Hectic season

With a crowded season next year the fringe athletes will also seize this opportunity to hit the limelight in this championship.

Stars of the past like P.T. Usha, Anusuya Bai, Shakti Singh, Angerl Mary, M.D. Valsamma, K.M. Beenamol and many others are expected to grace the championship over the next three days.

Western Railway was the overall champion in the last edition of the championship held in Pune. TVS is the title sponsor for the meet.

Mr. Kuldeep Chaturvedi, GM, SW Railway will inaugurate the meet.

Easy for big guns

The big guns of State basketball rolled through on the second day of the State Association Cup basketball championship organised by Merchants Club at Davangere on Wednesday.

While Vijaya Bank, MEG & Centre and HASC had comfortable margins, Karnataka State Police had to quell a strong challenge from the Guruprasad-led Kanaka (Kolar) before winning 76-60.

Kanaka came back strongly in the third and fourth quarters after trailing 30-49 at the halfway stage.

The scores (pre-quarterfinals): KSP 76 (Mahesh 21, Santosh 16) bt Kanaka (Kolar) 60 (Guruprasad 16, Ashoka 15); JSC 54 (Kaushal 18, Minhal 13) bt IBBC 45 (Shivraj Kumar 20); Ambedkar BC 29 (Aravind 16) bt CJC 25 (Arjun 8); HASC 38 bt YMMA 15; Vijaya Bank 66 (Srinivasa Gowda 17, Deiva Kumar 11) bt CMP 42 (Anbu Selvan 8); SAI (Dharwad) 57 (Abhishek 24, Rajesh Uppar 17) bt BSNL 39 (Naresh 15); MEG & Centre 71 (Amal James 24, Saji Mathew 12) bt Vimanapura SC 26 (Arun 11); Beagles BC 47 (Yashas 18) bt Ambedkar 18 (Bharath 10).

Raghavendra in semifinals

S. Raghavendra of Bangalore entered the boys under-16 and under-18 singles semifinals of the Brahmavar Sports Club-AITA talent series junior tennis championship at Brahmavar in Dakshina Kannada on Wednesday.

The top seed, Rithvik Anand of Tamil Nadu, also made the last four in both the events

In the girls’ section, top-seeded S.P. Ritu moved into the semifinals of the under-16 and under-18 singles.

The results (quarterfinals):

Boys: Under-16: Rithvik Anand bt Sharan Patil 6-3, 6-2; A. Kashyap bt Vishnu P. Rajesh 6-4, 6-4; Harsha Manjunath bt J. Naesar 6-1, 4-6, 6-1; S. Raghavendra bt Siddarth Dabrai 6-1, 6-4.

Under-18: S. Raghavendra bt A. Kashyap 6-3, 7-6(4); Sharan Patil bt Vishnu P. Rajesh 6-3, 6-2; Harsha Manjunath bt L. Harsha 3-6, 6-3, 7-6(5); Rithvik Anand bt Siddarth Dabrai 6-0, 6-1.

Girls: Under-16: S.P. Ritu bt Pallavi 6-1, 6-0; M. Poornai bt Kavana 6-0, 6-1; Prerna Kalwar bt Pooja 6-0, 6-0; Devika Kumar bt Imraz 6-1, 6-1.

Under-18: Amala Warrick bt Prerna Kalwar 6-0, 6-1; Devika Rani bt Preethi Prajwal 6-1, 6-2; M. Poornai bt Pallavi 6-1, 6-1; S.P. Ritu bt Imraz 6-0, 6-0.

Mindtree bags title

Mindtree, with 17 points, won the Ventures inter-corporate chess championship held here on December 12 and 134.

Cognizant finished runner-up with 15 points. K.V. Shripad of Cognizant bagged the top board prize with six points.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper