A host of top players of the country including the men’s and women’s National champions Anthony Amalraj and Poulomi Ghatak have confirmed their participation in the national ranking East Zone table tennis championships, to be played at SAI Indoor Hall in Bolpur from Saturday.

Apart from the National champions, the other notable entries include institutional champion Soumyajit Ghosh, internationals Harmeet Desai, G. Sathiyan and Jubin Kumar in the men’s section. On the distaff side there will be the likes of South Zone champion K. Shamini, internationals Mouma Das, Divya Deshpande, Mamata Prabhu and Madhurika Patkar, among others.

The seniors’ events will be the last on the fixtures, while the age group categories get precedence in the order. The East Zone championship will see over 500 entries vying for honours in the 10 titles — men, women, youth boys and girls, junior boys and girls, sub-junior boys and girls and cadet boys and girls — which will be decided over the next six days.

The cadet and sub-junior finals are slated for Sunday, while junior and youth finals will be played on Tuesday. The men’s and women’s finals will be on Thursday.

The tournament offers a total purse of Rs. 5,76,700 of which the men’s winner will bag Rs. 66,000 and the women’s champion Rs. 55,000. All title winners in other categories will also get cash prizes. — Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper