Chennai: The Tamil Nadu Police team claimed 21 medals in the all-India sports shooting competition, which concluded at Indore recently.

The team led by Dr. C. Sylendra Babu, Inspector General of Police, Special task Force, comprised 40 shooters, including coach Inspector Elango, and Sub-Inspectors of Police Senthil Kumar and Rajeswari.

Twenty teams, including the State Police Force, BSF, CRPF, CISF and the ITBP took part in the competition.

The Tamil Nadu team won eight gold, five silver and eight bronze, and was the overall women’s champion.

Rajeswari and women constables Gomathi, Sasikala, Syamala, Bharathi and Devaki won gold medals, while Sharmili, Junitha, Sridevi and Radhika claimed silver and bronze medals.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper