TIRUNELVELI: Tiruvallur defeated Kancheepuram by five wickets to win the ICL Mahaveer Chand Memorial Trophy in the inter-district (under-14) cricket tournament here on Wednesday.

The scores (final): Kancheepuram 62 in 28.2 overs (G. Vikram 36, R.S. Karthik three for 13) lost to Tiruvallur 66 for five in 23.5 overs (M.R. Prahalad 26).

Special awards: Best batsman: G. Vikram (Kancheepuram); Best bowler: K.B. Dixit (Kancheepuram); Best all rounder: L. Ganeshlingam (Tiruvallur); Promising youngster: V. Praveen (Salem); Man of the final: R.S. Karthik (Tiruvallur).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper