TIRUCHI: A quickfire 52 by M. Prithiviraj and fine bowling by state-under 16 star P.S. Nirmal Kumar (four for 14) enabled host Tiruchi District Cricket Association score a comfortable seven-wicket win over Perambalur DCA in the first round league match of the TNCA under-19 inter-district cricket tournament at the Bishop Heber College ground here on Thursday. Tiruchi qualified for the second round.

At Vellore, a seven-wicket haul including a hat-trick by U. Manikandan enabled Madurai defeat Ramanathapuram District Cricket Association by seven wickets on Thursday.

The scores: At Tiruchi: Perambalur 82 in 24 overs (P.S. Nirmal Kumar four for 14) lost to Tiruchi 83 for three in 10.3 overs (M. Prithiviraj 52).

Cuddalore 218 in 45.2 overs (M. Kannan 47, R. Vivek 35, N. Baskar 61, Thrudav three for 35) bt Nilgris 92 in 37.5 overs (Sachin U. Befegin 28, S. Kovandhan three for 14, N. Baskar four for 18).

At Theni: Virudhunagar 72 in 28 overs (Santhosh four for nine) lost to Theni 73 for five in 16 overs (Thavudu Pitchi three for 45).

Coimbatore 141 in 40.5 overs (Arun Balaji 36, Siba five for 24, Prabhu thee for 17) bt Krishnagiri 72 in 18.3 overs (Nitish four for 32).

At Tiruvarur: Erode DCA 127 for 25.1 overs (Karthik 32, Vadivel 26, Kannan four for 21, Modilal three for 27) bt Karur 69 in 28.5 overs (Amosraj four for seven).

Villupuram DCA 119 in 36.2 overs (S. Krishna Kumar 46, Manikandan four for 24) lost to Tiruvarur DCA 120 in 31.2 overs (Velmurugan 32).

At Vellore: Puducherry 232 for nine in 50 overs (S. Syed Anees Ahamed 106 not out, S. Prabhu three for 44) lost to Vellore 234 for six in 45.2 overs (D. Mani 89, Sikkandar Sheriff 43, V. Naresh Babu 50 not out).

Ramanathapuram 93 in 35.1 overs (M. Lakshminarayan 32, U. Manikandan seven for 25) lost to Madurai 96 for three in 21.2 overs (J. Arunkumar 46 not out).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper