THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Thiruvananthapuram won the South Zone under-19 inter-district cricket tournament.

The host logged 10 points from four matches to finish ahead of Kollam, which had eight points from the same number of matches.

In its last league-match at Ashramam Maidan, Thiruvananthapuram failed to score an outright win against Pathanamthitta, but secured the much-needed first innings lead to take two points from the drawn encounter.

At Agriculture College ground, Alappuzha wasted an opportunity to secure full points against Kottayam.

Alappuzha surprisingly didn't enforce the follow-on and instead chose to bat for the second time in the match.

The scores:

Thiruvananthapuram 383 for eight in 90 overs (Ali Asgar 84, Akhil Viswanath 80, Sachin Mohan 66, L.R. Rahul 50 not out, A.R. Rahul 37, Jibin Simon two for 67) drew with Pathanamthitta 117 in 34 overs (A.R. Rahul three for seven, Deepak Murali three for 11, Sachin Mohan two for 31, G.S. Anoop two for 41) and 97 for six in 33 overs (A.R. Rahul two for 22, G.S. Anoop two for 60).

Alappuzha 342 & 168 for seven in 41.1 overs (Jijin 60, Tinku Satish 42, Saji 34, Biswajith four for 39) drew with Kottayam 118 in 35 overs (Nimish Latheef 33, Laxman 30, Jesin Oscar five for 40, R. Sandeep three for 18, T.T. Thomas two for 24) and 99 for four in 18 overs (Christy Christopher 49, Jesin Oscar two for 43).

Palakkad takes kabaddi title

Palakkad defeated Thiruvananthapuram 52-21 to win the kabaddi title in the State Women Games (Group IV) at the Central Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram on Saturday. Ernakulam edged out Kannur 27-23 to take the third spot.

However, Thiruvananthapuram won the volleyball title with a straight-set win over Kottayam. Wayanad took the third place after defeating Ernakulam.

Pravin to lead Central Zone

Pravin Achuthan of Thrissur will lead the Central Zone in the Kerala State under-19 inter-zone cricket championship, which begins in Thiruvananthapuram on September 2. Idukki's Sachin Baby will be the vice-captain.

The team:

Pravin Achuthan (Tsr, captain), Sachin Baby (Idk, vice-capt.), P.U. Anthaf, K.J. Jackson, Gibson Thomachan (all Tsr), Ajay Jayakumar, C.T. Rajilal, Manu Krishnan, Rakesh, Jineesh (all Ekm), Pius K. Joseph, Santu Jose (both Idk), Ramesh, K. Shaiju (wk) and Surjit (all Pkd). Reserves: Jithumon (Idk), Shyamlal, Jithesh and Dhanush (all Tsr), Renjith (Pkd). Manager: K.C. Pradeep.

Superb 195 by Pravin Achuthan

Thrissur captain Pravin Achuthan helped himself to a superb 195 (217b, 3 x 6, 21 x 4) against Idukki on the concluding day of the Central Zone under-19 inter-district cricket championship at the Government Engineering College Ground in Thrissur on Wednesday.

Pravin's big knock helped Thrissur gain the first innings lead in the drawn game.

Ernakulam came close to pulling off a fine victory over Palakkad but in the end it ran out of time.

Ernakulam, Palakkad and the host Thrissur finished level with four points each at the end of the four-team league event.

The scores: Idukki 206 & 107 for one in 24 overs (Santo Jose 43) drew with Thrissur 371 in 78.5 overs (Pravin Achuthan 195, Dhanush 80, Sachin Baby four for 76). Ernakulam 177 & 190 for seven in 44.5 overs (Ajay Jayakumar 52, Rijish 49, Jineesh 41) drew with Palakkad 130 & 151 for nine in 44 overs (M. Arun 41, Ramesh 42).

Top seeds move up

Ernakulam's Joy T. Antony and international Sanave Thomas, the top two seeds, came up with comfortable wins on their way to the men's quarterfinals of the 37th Seshasayee State senior badminton championship at the FACT Udyogamandal Club, Eloor on Wednesday.

All the top eight seeds advanced to the quarerfinals but the host's junior State champion Sankar P. Gopan was forced to sweat, by Kozhikode's Sidharth Saboo, before making the grade.

The results: Men's singles: Pre-quarterfinals:

Joy T. Antony (Ekm) bt Aravind Shankar (Tvm) 21-14, 21-16; T.K. Jamshed (Kzd) bt P.A. Alfred (Pta) 21-18, 21-12; Ayyappan Krishnan (Tvm) bt Bennet Antony (Tsr) 21-15, 21-17; Sankar P. Gopan (Ekm) bt Sidharth Saboo (Kzd) 16-21, 21-11, 21-11; Alwyn Francis (Ekm) bt V. Arun (Tvm) 21-14, 21-15; Antony K. Jacob (Ekm) bt Midhilesh Sundr (Kzd) 21-16, 21-8; C.K. Rajesh (Pkd) bt Ram C. Vijay (Kzd) 21-19, 21-15; Sanave Thomas (Ekm) bt S. Manoj (Tvm) 21-18, 21-11.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper