Defending champion Sathyabhama University (Chennai), Indian Army (Delhi), Customs and Central Excise (Kochi) and KSEB (Thiruvananthapuram) are some of the prominent teams which will figure in the 28th Thebasco all-India basketball tournament which begins at the Sacred Heart School at Thevara on Monday.

Apart from the men's event, a six-team affair which will be played for the Kanatt Ummachan Trophy, Manikkath Chackochan Trophy and the SBI Trophy, the four-day tournament will also feature a four-team veterans' event.

Fr. Paulose Kidangen, Manager, CMI Institutions, Thevara, will inaugurate the tournament. — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper