Thalaivan wins it for Trotters

Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  
The Globe Trotters team with the VAP Trophy.— Photo: K. Pichumani
The Globe Trotters team with the VAP Trophy.— Photo: K. Pichumani

X. Thalaivan Sargunam won Globe Trotters the V.A. Parthasarathy Trophy in a nail-biting finish in Friday’s final against Jolly Rovers.

After seamer W. Anthony Dhas (five for 47) had restricted Rovers to 261 for nine, Trotters was struggling on 182 for eight in the 40th over. Thalaivan’s instruction to No.10 batsman Prashanth Chandran was simple: “It is eight runs an over, which means a six and two singles”.

Astonishingly, Thalaivan did just that. He ended unbeaten on 74, as Trotters completed a one-wicket win with one ball to spare. It was a cleverly thought out innings, based on the batsman’s confidence to clear the ground at will. Having come in at No. 7, he bided his time for the first 30 balls, making just 16, but ensuring he would be there at the end. Off the next 33 balls, he smashed 58 with a four and six sixes.

Chandran deserves credit as well. He scored just 14, but he refused to give his wicket away and helped Thalaivan add 72 off 60 balls. He fell in the final over, but last man Sunil Sam found a single to allow Thalaivan to finish it in style.

S. Anirudha, who made a stroke-filled 46 at the top of the order, and S. Sriram (42) and Y. Venugopala Rao (41), who looked to be controlling the chase, were the others to contribute.

J. Kaushik seemed to have swung the match Rovers’ way when he took two in two balls, including the wicket of Venugopala, after Piyush Chawla had had Sriram smartly caught and bowled. But though Trotters slipped further, in all losing five wickets for 28 runs, Thalaivan turned it around.

M. Vijay (58) and captain C. Hemant Kumar (68) had earlier added 79 for Rovers’ third wicket before Hemant and R. Sathish (34) put on 70 for the fourth wicket.

But Anthony Dhas dismissed Hemant and Sathish to enable Trotters restrain Rovers.

The scores (final): Jolly Rovers 261 for nine in 50 overs (M. Vijay 58, C. Hemant Kumar 68, W. Anthony Dhas five for 47) lost to Globe Trotters 262 for nine in 49.5 overs (S. Anirudha 46, S. Sriram 42, Y. Venugopala Rao 41, X. Thalaivan Sargunam 74 n.o.).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Anand beats Adams, in second spot

Viswanathan Anand crashed through the defences of Michael Adams of England to jump to the second spot in the Shamkir Chess 2015 tournamen... »