New Delhi: Sachin Tendulkar was rested while pacemen Ishant Sharma and Praveen Kumar were dropped from the Indian team for next month’s tri-series in Bangladesh.

Temperamental speedster S. Sreesanth, who missed the ODI series against Sri Lanka because of swine flu, and Bengal pacer Ashok Dinda were included in the ODI squad for the tri-series announced by the BCCI Secretary Mr. N. Srinivasan after a selection committee meeting here.

Ishant was not only axed from the tri-series squad, but was also not included for the fifth and final ODI against Sri Lanka here on Sunday.

Ojha dropped

Left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha was also left out of the tri-series squad with the national selectors preferring leg-spinner Amit Mishra to share the responsibilities with Harbhajan Singh.

Dashing left-hander Yuvraj Singh has been named in the tri-series squad, which has no new face.

Virender Sehwag, who led India when Mahendra Singh Dhoni was unavailable following the two-match suspension for slow over-rate, has been named vice-captain for the tri-series. Rohit Sharma has also been recalled for the tri-series from January 4-13. Apart from India, host Bangladesh and Sri Lanka are the two other teams.

The tri-series will be followed by a two-match Test series in Chittagong (Jan. 17-21) and Dhaka (Jan. 24-28).

The team to be captained by Dhoni has six specialist batsmen, two specialist spinners and five pacemen. It has one all-rounder in Ravindra Jadeja who has been quite effective as left-arm spinner and two wicketkeepers in Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik.

Zaheer Khan will spearhead the pace attack which also has Ashish Nehra and Sreesanth besides the two rookies Sudip Tyagi and Ashok Dinda.

The squad (fifth ODI): M.S. Dhoni (capt.), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Sudeep Tyagi, Dinesh Karthik, S. Sreesanth, Ashok Dinda, Pragyan Ojha.

The squad (tri-series): M.S. Dhoni (capt.), Sehwag (vice-captain), Gambhir, Kohli, Raina, Rohit Sharma, R. Jadeja, Harbhajan, Zaheer, Nehra, Yuvraj , Tyagi, Karthik, Sreesanth, Dinda, Amit Mishra. — PTI

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper