Tamil Nadu won the South Zone Vinoo Mankad Trophy under-19 cricket tournament for the third time in-a-row when it recorded a four-wicket win over Hyderabad in the last league match here on Wednesday.

Batting first, Hyderabad was bundled out for 146 with only Arun Deva (38) batting with a fair degree of comfort against some accurate bowling by Tamil Nadu; B. Aparjith (three for 23) was the pick of the Tamil Nadu bowlers.

Chasing a modest target, Tamil Nadu suffered early blows thanks to a good spell by left-arm medium-pacer C.V. Milind. Tamil Nadu recovered to reach the target with useful contributions from B. Indrajith, R. Vishnu and J. Koushik.

For the home team, which did not fare well throughout the tournament, Milind and Chaitanya Reddy took two wickets apiece.

Samarath on song

In another match, R. Samarath cracked his second century of the tournament with an unbeaten 164 (143b,15x4, 2x6) to help Karnataka register a six-wicket win over Andhra and help the team finish second in the overall standings.

The scores:

Hyderabad 146 (Arun Deva 38, B. Aparjith three for 23) lost to Tamil Nadu 146 for six (B. Indrajith 35, R. Vishnu 39, J. Koushik 30 not out).

Andhra 256 for nine (M.U.B. Sriram 45, K.S. Bharath 45, Jayawardhan 31, Shamsudar 33) lost to Karnataka 257 for four (R. Samarath 164 not out, K.V. Viswanath 44).

Kerala 265 (R.S. Ranjith 95, Vishnu N. Babu 38, Saly Viswanth 37, Ganesh Raj Narvekar four for 44, Darshal Mishal three for 42) bt Goa 233 (Srinivas Phatte 88, Abhisheik Mohan three for 48).

Final standings (read as matches played, won, lost, points): 1. Tamil Nadu 5-5-0-22, 2. Karnataka 5-4-1-16, Andhra 5-3-2-12, Kerala 5-2-3-8, Hyderabad 5-1-4-4, Goa 5-0-5-minus 2 .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper