Tamil Nadu did not allow its patience to wear thin on a flat deck and while overcoming the enterprising approach of the home team batsmen at the Khanderri stadium here on Saturday.

At the stroke of tea it dismissed the last Saurashtra man, to take a first innings lead of 90 runs and pocket three points to take its tally to nine in the Group ‘A' Ranji Trophy Super League.

Tamil Nadu heaved a sigh of relief when Kamlesh Makwana brought an end to his two-hour innings holing out to Abhinav Mukund.

The second new ball was available at the start of the fourth and final day and skipper Dinesh Karthik decided to employ his seamers straightaway.

The tactic of tempting Sagar Jogiani to cut and edge failed and the ball raced to the third man fence at regular intervals.

Bold shots

Sitanshu Kotak (99, 402m, 224b, 14x4) too executed some bold shots, but played across and lost his stumps to C. Ganapathy.

Saurashtra progressed at 3.57 runs per over in the first session to reach 364 for five and needed to score at 3.36 in the remaining 65 overs to take the lead.

The sixth-wicket stand between Jogiani and left-hander Pratik Mehta promised much and Tamil Nadu after lunch even resorted to a restrictive line from Rajagopal Satish and round the wicket bowling by off-spinner Murthy Prabhu.

The pitch at the Khanderi stadium proved to be a graveyard for bowlers, and even the home team suffered; all it got was one point from the drawn match and took its tally to two from three matches.

The scores: Tamil Nadu — 1st innings: 582.

Saurashtra — 1st innings: C. Pathak c Sam b Prabhu 15, B. Chauhan c Karthik b Sam 19, S. Kotak b Ganapathy 99, R. Jadeja lbw b Ashwin 63, J. Shah c Einstein (sub) b Ganapathy 42, S. Jogiani c Ashwin b Yomahesh 93, P. Mehta c Badrinath b Yomahesh 38, R. Dhruve c Ashwin b Ganapathy 20, K. Makwana c Mukund b Prabhu 31, S. Maniyar c Prabhu b Ashwin 36, H. Rathod not out 1; Extras (b-13, lb-5, nb-10, w-7): 35; Total (in 152.2 overs): 492.

Fall of wickets: 1-28, 2-44, 3-137, 4-214, 5-299, 6-384, 7-391, 8-425, 9-478.

Tamil Nadu bowling: Ganapathy 24-6-69-3, Yomahesh 22-3-70-2, Prabhu 30.2-6-60-2, Ashwin 38-6-118-2, Sam 20-3-100-1, Sathish 13-1-29-0, Abhinav 5-0-28-0.

Tamil Nadu — 2nd innings: S. Anirudha (not out) 15, R. Satish (run out) 5, C. Ganapathy (not out) 6; Extras (b-4): 4; Total (for one wkt in 10 overs): 30.

Fall of wicket: 1-15.

Saurashtra bowling: Rathod 4-0-17-0, Maniyar 3-0-4-0, J. Shah 2-0-2-0, P. Mehta 1-0-3-0 .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper