Vels University (Chennai) clinched the men’s and women’s volleyball titles in the fourth South India level inter-collegiate Chevalier Dr. Sivaji Ganesan tournament at the SSM College of Engineering in Komarapalayam here on Sunday.

Vels stopped a fighting Sri Krishna Arts and Science College (Coimbatore) 28-26, 21-25, 25-23 for the men’s title, while its women scored a 25-18, 22-25, 25-22 win over PKR Arts and Science (Gobichettipalayam) for the top honour.

Earlier, host SSM College of Engineering walked away with the men’s kabaddi title defeating Adhiyamaan College of Engineering (Hosur) 16-13.

The results (final)

Men: Volleyball: Vels University (Chennai) bt Sri Krishna ASC (Coimbatore) 28-26, 21-25, 25-23. Kabaddi: SSM CE (Komarapalayam) bt Adhiyamaan CE (Hosur) 16-13.

Women: Volleyball: Vels University bt PKR ASC (Gobichettipalayam) 25-18, 22-25, 25-22.

Tirunelveli prevails

Tirunelveli got past Chennai 2-1 to take the top spot in the team event of the eighth inter-State sepak takraw tournament for the PSG Tech Trophy at the PSG College of Technology in Coimbatore on Sunday.

E. Girish, Principal, PSG Public School, gave away the prizes.

The results (final): Team event: Tirunelveli bt Chennai 2-1. Regu: PSG Tech Alumni bt Tirunelveli 15-11, 14-16, 15-8. Doubles: Championship division: 1. PSG Tech ‘A’; 2. Combined Districts; 3. Thiruvananthapuram. 1. Premier division: Tirunelveli ‘A’; 2. Chennai; 3. Kerala.

Special awards: Best player: Shyam (Tirunelveli); emerging player: Pradeep Benedict (PSG Tech); best striker: Ganesh (Chennai); best supplier: Ganesh (Tirunelveli); best centre: Balaji (PSG Tech Alumni).

Mahalingam CET wins

Dr. Mahalingam College of Engineering and Technology (Pollachi) fashioned a six-wicket win over Kamarajar College of Engineering and Technology (Virudhunagar) to emerge the champion of the AUSB Anna University (Chennai) inter-zone cricket tournament for women at Virudhunagar on Sunday.

After bundling out the host for 91, Dr. Mahalingam scored the required runs in a shade less than 15 overs. Shalini (four for two) and Kalaivani (32 not out) played stellar roles for the winner.

The scores: Final: Kamarajar CET (Virudhunagar) 91 in 9.4 overs (Shalini four for two, Kalaivani two for four) lost to Dr. Mahalingam CET (Pollachi) 94 for four in 14.2 overs (Kalaivani 32 n.o., Yamini three for 6).

Kamalesh scores 104

A. Kamalesh struck an unbeaten 104 (91b, 11x4) as Dr. Mahalingam College of Engineering and Technology (Pollachi) thrashed Sri Krishna College of Technology by 130 runs in a quarterfinal match of the CDCA inter-collegiate cricket tournament for the G.R. Prasad Trophy at the SNR Sons College grounds in Coimbatore on Monday.

The scores: Quarterfinals: Sri Krishna CET 156 for eight in 40 overs (S. Aswin 31, A. Deeraj 32) bt Dr. NGP IT 143 for nine in 40 overs (S. Nigilesh 55, S. Vijayaraja 55, C. Devanandh four for 22); PSG CAS 228 for eight in 40 overs (V. Srinath 73, M. Sadiq Ul Ameen 51, M. Abhinav 42, B.M. Shiva Prasad three for 39) bt Jansons IT 89 in 26.4 overs (S. Ramesh 32, C. Gowtham five for 3, M. Abhinav three for 24); Dr. Mahalingam CET (Pollachi) 257 for four in 40 overs (A. Kamalesh 104, G. Surendar 58) bt Sri Krishna Tech 127 for nine in 40 overs (G. Surendar three for 18).

Four for Syed Ibrahim

Syed Ibrahim picked four for 10 in Sri Ramakrishna Cricket Trust’s six-wicket win over RKS Cricket Academy in the TNCA-CDCA first division league at the PSG in Coimbatore on Sunday.

The scores: I div.: RKS CA 103 in 40.5 overs (Syed Ibrahim four for 10) lost to Sri Ramakrishna CT 105 for four in 26.5 overs (S. Sujay 44).

II div.: Arumugam Eleven Patriots CC 146 in 46 overs (K. Rajesh 33, E. Gowtham three for 22) lost to Suryabala CC 147 for nine in 49.1 overs.

III div.: Senthil Srinivasan MCC 145 in 37.1 overs (Sam 36, M.J. Aaron Nash six for 15) bt R.S. Puram CC 143 in 38.3 overs (Thirumurugan 49, K. Balachandar four for 29).

Big win for Dirty Dozen

Selva Kumar hit a fine 80 as Dirty Dozen Cricket Club dispatched Sivanthi Adityan Cricket Club by nine wickets in the TNCA-SDCA first division league at the Neelambal Subramaniam HSS grounds in Salem on Sunday.

The scores: I div.: Sivanthi Adityan CC 111 in 37 overs lost to Dirty Dozen CC 115 for one in 21.4 overs (Selva Kumar 80).

II div.: Rangers CC 263 for nine in 42 overs (Vinoth Kumar 85 n.o., Sankar 43, Edwin three for 29) bt Achievers CC 201 in 42 overs (Prabhu Ramasamy 75, Manivannan 34, Sundaravarthan three for 44); Royal Slammers CC 122 in 45 overs (Vetrivel 34, Kumar four for 17) lost to S.R. Prabhakar MCC 123 for four in 27 overs.

III div.: Ravindran Memorial CC 145 in 31.4 overs (Vishnu 46, T. Kesavan four for 39, Krishnan three for 33) lost to JSW RC 146 for five in 37 overs (Vishnu three for 35); Montfort School w/o. Government Engineering (Salem).

Colts CC triumphs

Colts Cricket Club scored a convincing four-wicket win over All Stars Cricket Club in the NDCA HPF Staff Club Rolling Trophy at the HPF grounds on Sunday.

The scores: All Stars CC 157 (A. Devi Prasad 64, S. Karthik 47, D. Arun Prakash three for 26, Mohd. Aarif three for 27) lost to Colts CC 160 for six in 24.4 overs (K. Siva Sathyan 57, S. Sandeep 42).

Santosh Shiv sizzles

Unbeaten century by S. Santosh Shiv led Vyasa Vidyalaya MHSS, Kancheepuram to a comfortable six wicket win over Eden Garden MHSS, Perambalur in the final of the under-16 inter-districts schools tournament for Coca Cola trophy at Tirunelveli on Saturday.

The result: Final: Eden Garden MHSS, Perambalur 205 nine in 40 overs (N. Venkatesh 37, A. Mohammed Riyaz 37, R. Sasikaran 33, R. Sai Kishore three for 40) lost to Vyasa Vidyalaya MHSS, Kancheepuram 208 for four in 34.1 overs (S. Santhosh Shiv 118 n.o., T. Ajithkumar 25 n.o.).

Vinoth excels

C. Vinoth starred both with bat and ball (45 and four for 32) as IRI CC beat Blue Star CC by three wickets in the TNCA Vellore DCA league match at Vellore.

The scores: Blue Diamond CC 148 for five in 27 overs (I. Haroon Basha 60, A. Ansar Ali 26, S. Raghul 27) bt BHEL RC 138 for eight in 27 overs (Chandrasekar 43, A. Ansar Ali three for 30).

Blue Star CC 123 in 25 overs (G. Bharthi 29, B. Babu 31, C. Vinoth four for 32, M. Sathya three for 18) lost to IRI CC 127 for seven in 26 overs (C. Vinoth 45, R. Karthick 27, B. Babu three for 23).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper