Superb spell by left-arm spinner Abdul Azeem (eight for eight) helped Apex score a 106-run win over Rushi Raj in the A-Division one-day league cricket championship here on Sunday.

The scores: A-Division one-day league: Apex CC 210 for seven (Syed Javid Ali 67, Syed Pasha Ali 60, Mohammed Aleem three for 41) bt Rushi Raj 104 (Mallikarjun 45, Abdul Azeem eight for eight).

Satyam Colts 189 for eight (Naresh 35, Srinivas four for 45) bt Concorde 132 (Srinivas 45, Akber 43, Vishwahith five for 16).

Abhinav Colts 179 (Asheer 37, Satish four for 46) lost to MP Blues 183 for five (L. Srinivas 40, Satish 40 n.o.).

Young Citizens 194 for seven (Vikas 103, Ratan 54 n.o., Sree Charan four for 29) lost to Greenlands 195 for five (Sundar 106 n.o., Karan five for 60).

PN Youngsters 146 for seven (Suleman four for 33) lost to Mahaveer 147 for seven (Rajkiran 34, Vijander 52).

Victor 136 (Sravan three for 40) lost to Rohith XI 139 for five (Sairam 35, Ranjeeth 51 n.o., R. Bhanu Kumar five for 40).

MP Youngmen 130 (Vijay three for 15) bt PKCC 93 (Nitin four for 40, Uday three for 13).

St. Mary’s 70 (C. Tarun three for 40) lost to Youth CC 71 for one (S. Arun 39).

Col. Acrylic 85 (M. A. Baseer six for 44) lost to Shalimar 89 for five (Altaf three for 10).

A-Institution one-day league: Hyd Industries 212 for seven (Ranga Sarat 108, Balakrishna five for 55) bt Parisram Bhavan 125 (K. Narahari 35, Ashok four for 40, Nicholas six for 37).

APSEB 90 (Bhanu Kiran four for 11) lost to APCS 96 for three (Bhanu Kiran 42).

Indian Airlines 232 (Jatin Mehta 82, Prabhu 43, Deepak 33, Shanthi Kumar five for 28) bt Commercial Taxes 171 (Sathyam 38, Rangaswamy 44, Prabhu Kiran three for 44).

Jayawardhane shines

ACA Colts XI, powered by 89 by Jayawardhane, made 329 for nine in 90 overs at the end of the first day’s play in the three-day practice match against Hyderabad XI at Vizianagaram on Sunday.

The scores: ACA XI 329 for nine in 90 overs (Jayawardhane 89, Raviteja 64, Avinash 59, Varma 40, Chandrasekhar three for 24, Omar Khan three for 89) vs Hyderabad XI

Two wins for

Valmiki High School

Valmiki High School defeated Pamidi by 61 runs and followed it up with a 51-run victory over Panthula Colony in the Procam International Coca Cola inter-school tournament at Anantapur on Sunday.

Valmiki High School, RDT Bukkarayasamundram, Atmakur and Gnana Bharathi High School entered the semifinals, which will be held on Monday.

The scores: Kambadur 31 in 12.2 overs (V. Swamy three for six) lost to RDT Bukkaraya Samundram 32 for no loss in 7.3 overs.

Atmakur 164 for seven in 20 overs (Khadar 50) bt Crescent School 33 in 8.5 overs.

Valmiki High School 122 for four in 15 overs (Ajay Rahul 36) bt Pamidi 61 for nine in 15 overs

Gnana Bharathi HS 82 for eight in 15 overs bt RSL (S.V. Puram) 72 in 14.2 overs (Hydervali three for 10)

Valmiki HS 140 for two in 15 overs (Ajay Rahul 66, Sai Karthik 49) bt Panthula Colony 89 for three in 15 overs.

Vijayawada wins

Vijayawada Veterans XI defeated Hyderabad XI by 35 runs in the final of the Chukkapalli Pitchaiah memorial T20 cricket tournament which concluded at Perecherla, Guntur on Sunday.

The scores: Vijayawada 136 for nine in 20 overs (Mastan Reddy 30, Seshagiri two for 21) bt Hyderabad 101 in 19 overs (Seshagiri 23, Sarat four for 14, Srinivasa Reddy two for 23, Mastan Reddy two for 32, Amanullah Khan two for 19).

Special prizes: Man of the match: Sarat; Man of the tournament: Dr. Seshagiri (Hyd); Best batsman: Rajanikanth (Hyd); Best bowler: Sridhar (Vijayawada); Best wicketkeeper: Anil Kumar (Vijayawada).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper