: Globe Trotters seamer Sunil Sam's six-wicket burst destroyed India Pistons on a rain-affected second day of the TNCA first-division league's first round.

Trotters gained the first-innings lead thanks to Sam's spell. It could have been worse for Pistons had K. Martin Sanjeev not made 84. Sanjeev's knock and his 99-run ninth-wicket partnership with M. Mohammed helped his side recover from 58 for eight but couldn't prevent the concession of a 75-run lead.

Three top performers of the opening day — B. Indrajith, S. Senthil Kumar and M.O. Arjun Sarathy — added to their efforts on Thursday.

Indian Bank's Indrajith progressed to make his maiden first-division century and remained unbeaten on 144 (332b, 18x4, 1x6) at stumps. His unbroken partnership of 93 with P. Satish enabled his team to finish on 363 for six against Grand Slam.

Also making an unbeaten century was Aruna's Senthil Kumar, who carried his bat in the process. His 128 (305b, 10x4, 4x6) was more than half his side's total of 237. Young Stars responded with 61 for one in 18.1 overs.

Off-spinner M.O. Arjun Sarathy added two wickets on Thursday to finish with figures of seven for 57 as Parry's dismissed IOB for 152 before replying with 68 for three.

In another match, Vijay's Anirudh Kasturi, a second-year student in SSN Engineering College, made a half-century on first-division debut and put on 105 for the opening wicket with his captain, K.B. Arun Karthik, as his side moved to within 96 runs of Falcon's 204.

The scores:

At RKM-Viveka: Indian Bank 363 for six in 126.3 overs (B. Indrajith 144 batting, E. Suresh 70, P. Satish 48 batting, V. Arun Kumar four for 82) vs. Grand Slam.

At IC-Guru Nanak: Falcon 204 in 92.3 overs (R. Rohith 64) vs. Vijay 108 for one in 29 overs (K.B. Arun Karthik 48 batting, Anirudh Kasturi 52).

At MRF-Pachaiyappa's: Globe Trotters 232 and two for no loss in one over vs. India Pistons 157 in 66.3 overs (K. Martin Sanjeev 84, Sunil Sam six for 29).

At IIT-Chemplast: Jolly Rovers 327 for seven in 90 overs (M. Vijay 80, C. Hemant Kumar 79, J. Gowjith Subash 41) vs. Alwarpet. (no play possible)

At Murugappa: IOB 152 in 100.5 overs (M.O. Arjun Sarathy seven for 57) vs. Parry's 68 for three in 45 overs.

At SRMC: Aruna 237 in 103.3 overs (S. Senthil Kumar 128 n.o.) vs. Young Stars 61 for one in 18.1 overs .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper