India's Sudhir Asnani is among the 12 umpires announced for the World Twenty20 qualifiers which will take place from March 13 to 24 in the UAE.

The tournament will have 16 teams from across ICC's five regions competing for two places at the ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012 which will be staged from September 18 to October 7 in Colombo, Hambantota and Pallekele.

The winner of the UAE event will join Group ‘B' which includes Australia and West Indies while the runner-up will join defending champion England and former winner India in Group ‘A'.

The match officials for the event include five-time ICC Umpire of the Year Simon Taufel. — PTI

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper