More than 150 rated players will participate in the 51st open state chess championship from June 1 to 6 at the DPS Ruby Park.

The tournament, dedicated to the memory of noted filmmaker Satyajit Ray, will have IM Subhrajit Saha as the top seed.

Sayantan Das, who has already won a couple of age-group national titles and also acquired three IM norms, will be another big name in the tournament, which will be held in a 10-round Swiss league format.

Kolkata District Chess Association will also felicitate Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury, who became the seventh Grandmaster from the state recently, in the opening ceremony.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper