A star-studded ONGC (Dehradun) crushed Kerala Police 72-53 in a men’s league match in the JCI all-India basketball tournament at the St. Aloysius floodlit basketball court on Friday.

ONGC with an array of internationals in its ranks proved too good for Kerala Police which slipped to its second consecutive defeat in the tournament.

In another match, Vijaya Bank (Bangalore) withstood a spirited fight-back from KSEB in the second half to win 69-65.

Central Railway (Mumbai) edged out South Western Railway 81-80 in a thrilling match in the women’s section.

The results:

Men: ONGC (Dehradun) 72 (Mohith Bhandari 15, Vishesh Brigwanshi 14, Yadwinder Singh 13, Muralee Krishna 13) bt Kerala Police 53 (Bony Mathew 12, Jijo Thankachan 12).

Vijaya Bank (Bangalore) 69 (Aravind 26, Roby Thomas 16) bt KSEB 65 (Albin Baby 30, Ashin Xavier Philip 17).

Women: Central Railway (Mumbai) 81 (Manisha Dangae 26, Anu Hareesh 22, Renjusha Mathew 14) bt South Western Railway (Hubli) 80 (L.S. Savitha 23, G. Reshma 18, K.K. Nimisha 12).

St. Michael’s retains

its title

Host St. Michael’s retained the St. Michael’s Trophy in the all-Kerala inter-school basketball tournament, beating Providence 51-24 in an all-Kozhikode final in Kozhikode on Friday.

The results (final):

St. Michael’s 51 (Amrutha 17, Anusha 12) bt Providence 24 (Mayookha 11).


St. Michael’s 40 bt Presentation 15; Providence 55 bt Kendriya Vidyalaya 47 (Aswathy Jayashankar 47).

BPCL cricket today

The 26th BPCL all-India cricket tournament, organised by the BPCL Kochi Refinery, begins at the KR Oval in Ambalamugal on Saturday.

The tournament will be held in two phases with the first phase being an all-Kerala affair. The winner of the first phase will qualify to the main phase.

The second phase begins on January 28 and the final will be held on February 3.

Defending champion SBT (Thiruvananthapuram), last year’s runner-up IOB (Chennai) along with Kerala teams — host BPCL Kochi Refinery, Cordiant Sports Foundation (both Kochi) and Thiruvananthapuram’s Masters CC — are some of the teams which will figure in the main phase.

The KCA Senior Academy will meet Ernakulam’s Scorpion CC in the first phase opener on Saturday.

AG Kerala wins

AG Kerala blanked AG Tamil Nadu 3-0 to win the title in the South Zone inter-audit and accounts football championship at the University stadium in Thiruvananthapuram on Friday.

Midhun Welwet put the host ahead in the 12th minute after converting a penalty. Vineeth increased the lead in the 28th minute while Golmei completed the tally in the 52nd.

Former Account General James K. Joseph gave away the prizes to the winner.

Arun, Fazil in final

Arun K. Anil and Fazil M. Khan entered the singles final of the qualifying phase in the V-Guard Open all-Kerala badminton tournament at the Rama Varma Union Club in Kottayam on Friday.

The tournament’s main phase starts on Saturday and internationals Sanave Thomas, Ram C. Vijay and State stars M.R. Arjun, Bennet Antony, Jaison Xavier and Joy T. Antony are some of the players expected to take part.

The prize-money event ends on Sunday.

The results (qualifying phase, semifinals):

Arun K. Anil bt Vivin 21-15, 21-15; Fazil M. Khan bt Jaison John 18-21, 21-19, 21-19.

MSP HSS in last four

Malabar Special Police HSS, Malappuram, defeated Kozhikode’s Malabar Christian College HSS 4-1 and entered the semifinal of the 12th Mar Athanasius Trophy all-India schools football tournament at the Municipal Stadium in Aluva on Friday.

K. Salman (16th min.), Mohammed Sabith (32nd), Irshad (50th) and Shihad (53rd) scored for MSP,.

K. Vivek (60th) netted MCC’s consolation goal.

  • Vijaya Bank prevails over KSEB

  • Central Rly edges out S-W Rly

  • More In: SPORT | Today's Paper