THRISSUR: Karnataka’s G.A. Stany, with 8.5 points from 10 rounds, won the Thrissur Open all-India FIDE-rated chess tournament which concluded here on Sunday.

The tenth-seeded Stany drew with ICF’s top-seeded R.R. Laxman in the final round and walked away with the top prize of Rs. 20,000.

ICF’s sixth seed Syed Anwar Shazuli finished runner-up.

The results (final round): R.R. Laxman drew with G.A. Stany, P.D.S. Girinath drew with R. Balasubramaniam, Arvind Shastry drew with T.U. Navin Kanna, Syed Anwar Shazuli bt M.G. Gahan, E.P. Nirmal drew with P. Phoobalan, K. Ratnakaran drew wth Rupankar Nath, M.A. Joy Lazar drew with K. Gunasekharan, M.B. Muralidharan drew with A.K. Jagadeesh, T. J. Suresh Kumar bt S.C. Bharathi, Gavi Siddayya bt O.T. Anilkumar.

Final placings: 1. G.A. Stany (Kar, 8.5 points), 2. Syed Anwar Shazuli (ICF, 8), 3. P.D.S. Girinath (S.C. Rly, 8), 4. R.R. Laxman (ICF, 8), 5. R. Balasubramaniam (ICF, 8), 6. Arvind Shastry (Kar, 7.5), 7. T. U. Navin Kann (TN, 7.5), 8. T.J. Suresh Kumar (ICF, 7.5), 9. P. Phoobalan (ICF, 7.5), 10. E.P. Nirmal (Ker, 7.5). — Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper