The Karnataka Table Tennis Association (KTTA) continues to be in a limbo. After eight long years of wait when elections were called and were being conducted, pandemonium erupted and the president elect, J. Alexander, adjourned the AGM.

KTTA functioned as an ad-hoc body for almost five years with Alexander at the helm and K.S. Vasanth Kumar as its secretary.

T.G. Upadhya, a senior member and joint secretary of the existing ad-hoc body jumped into the fray against the sitting secretary K.S. Vasanth Kumar thereby upsetting the calculations. Dayanand Pai's nomination for president was botched by TTFI claiming that the incumbent held too many posts in other state associations already.

In all, a step towards an amicable solution and a functioning body just did not materialise.

Karnataka posts win

Karnataka and Tamil Nadu opened their campaigns with victories as the 11th all-India BSNL volleyball tournament commenced at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium, here on Monday.

The host secured a 25-7, 25-9, 25-16 win over MTNL (Delhi), while Tamil Nadu defeated Uttarakhand 25-16, 25-16, 25-12. Bihar, meanwhile, stunned Kerala in the day's third match, prevailing 25-21, 24-26, 25-12, 25-16.

The results: Karnataka bt MTNL (Delhi) 25-7, 25-9, 25-16; Tamil Nadu bt Uttarakhand 25-16, 25-16, 25-12; Bihar bt Kerala 25-21, 24-26, 25-12, 25-16.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper