St. Joseph’s Sports Academy won the overall titles for men and women in the senior State-level athletic meet organised by the Madurai District Athletic Association (MDAA) here on Sunday.

While men’s team finished with 97 points, women’s team earned 164 points.

K. Premkumar from St. Joseph’s Sports Academy set a new meet record (7.95m) in long jump, while A. Suresh from Southern Railway rewrote the mark (13.9s) in 110m hurdles.

Chief Commissioner of Income tax, M.S. Chandrasekar, gave away the prizes.

The results (winners only):

Men: 100m: M. Vijaya Kumar (Central Excise) 10.6s. 200m: M. Manikanda Arumugam (Southern Railway) 21.5s. 400m: A. Deepan Chakravarthy (cbe) 48.5s. 800m: P. Karthik (cbe) 1:55.5s. 1500m: P. Karthik (Cbe) 3:58.0s. 5000m: B. Ezhilinavan (Gross Hoppers) 15:06.6s. 10,000m: Irrapad Akki (M.R.C. Ooty) 31:51.0s. 110m hurdles: A. Suresh (Southern Railway) 13.9s (NMR). 400m hurdles: S. Mervin (SDAT) 52.7s. Long jump: K. Premkumar (St. Joseph’s SA) 7.95 m (NMR). Triple jump: Mohammed Salauddin (SDAT) 15.17m. High jump: Nikil (Southern Railway) 2.08m. Javelin throw: A. Michael Jostin (SDAT) 68.01m. Hammer throw: N. Shankar (St. Joseph’s SA) 54.85m. Discus throw: Santosh Devdas (St. Joseph’s SA) 48.12m. Shot put: N. Shankar (St. Joseph’s SA) 14.17m. Pole vault: V. Vignesh (Presidency) 4.70m. 20km walk: K.R. Pramodkar (Cbe) 1hr 42:10.9s. 4x100m relay: Southern Railway 42.2s. 4x400m relay: St. Joseph’s Sports Academy 3:18.8s. Decathlon: R. Suren (St. Joseph’s SA) 5764 pts.

Women: 100m: Sarada Narayan (Southern Railway) 12.0s. 200m: S. Archana (SDAT) 24.7s. 400m: R. Elavarasi (Indian Bank) 57.2s. 800m: K. Meenakshi (St. Joseph’s SA) 2:25.4s. 1500m: S. Padmavathy (St. Joseph’s SA) 4:51.8s. 5000m: S. Padmavathy (St. Joseph’s SA) 18:58.6s. 10,000m: S. Renuka ( PDAA) 42:29.7s. 100m hurdles: G. Gayathri (St. Joseph’s SA) 14.1s. 400m hurdles: T.S. Kavitha (St. Joseph’s SA) 1:03.6s.

Long jump: G. Gayathri (St. Joseph’s SA) 5.78m. High jump: G. Marry Shalani (St. Joseph’s SA) 1.70m. Triple jump: Roshelle (Indian Bank) 12.79m. Pole vault: V.S. Surekha (Southern Railway) 3.65m. Shot put: U. Vasumathy (LIC) 13.63m. Javelin: S. Saraswati (Southern Railway) 46.97m. Discus: U. Vasumathy (LIC) 44.48m. Hammer: R. Muthuselvi (LIC) 41.58m. 10km walk: R. Madhumitha Kara (St. Joseph’s SA) 1hr 03:39.9s. 4x100m relay: St. Joseph’s Sports Academy 48.7s. 4x400m relay: St. Joseph’s Sports Academy 4:03.4s. Heptathlon: S. Neelaveni (St. Joseph’s Sports Academy) 3914 pts.

Chess trials

Theni District selection trials in the under-7, 13 & 17 categories, for the State-level chess championship to be conducted from April 21 to 28 at Tiruchi, Thiruvarur and Krishnagiri, will be held at NRC Mahal, Theni on April 13 at 8.30 a.m.

Entries close on April 12. Contact Mahesh Raja at 9842113434 for details.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper