BANGALORE: The Youngsters Sports Club, Bangalore, will conduct this year's senior and junior athletics championships at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium here from September 1 to 3. Adding colour to the event will be a 158-member contingent from Sri Lanka .The athletes would vie for honours in 195 events in the boys and girls under-14, under-16, under-18, under-20 as well as men's and women's sections.

"This is the third time a Sri Lankan team would be participating in the State meet, but more importantly this time around there will be a few SAF Games medallists too in the fray," said Satyanarayana, secretary, Karnataka Athletic Association, at a press meet here on Tuesday.

The championship will be the basis for selecting the State contingent for the forthcoming South Zone athletics championships to be held at Raichur from September 20 to 22.

International athletes like Arun D'Souza, Mohd. Muddasir, Vilas Nilagund, Bindu Rani, Kavya Muthanna, Shilpa Sundar are expected to showcase their prowess. Once again South Kanara will be the team to beat for team honours although South Western Railway, SAI Bangalore and DYSS (Bangalore) could be tough contenders. Sonata, Canara Bank, LIC and Hotel Grand Ashok are co-sponsors of this event.

TT tournament

The 36th all-India inter-institutional table tennis championships will be held at the Kanteerava Indoor Stadium here from September 1 to 5.

India's top men and women players will take part. It will have 300 men and 200 women players vying for honours.

Petroleum Sports Promotion Board is the top-ranked team in both the men's and women's sections. Railways is seeded second in the men's section, while Banks Sports Board is seeded second in the women's section. Sharath Kamal is the top-seeded men's individual, while Poulami Ghatak is seeded ahead of Mouma Das in the women's section.

The team championship will be played on a league-cum-knockout basis, while the individual championship will be on a knockout basis.

The total outlay for the tournament is between Rs. 6 and 7 lakhs, of which the total prize money is Rs 2.5 lakhs.

The following is the seeding in the men's and women's section: Men: 1. Sharath Kamal, 2. Subajit Saha, 3. Soumyadeep Roy, 4. Jitender Kumar. Women: Poulami Ghatak, 2. Mouma Das, 3. Shamini Kumareshan, 4. Montu Ghosh.

Hat-trick by Gopi

Gopi slammed all the four goals for BHEL (EPD), which beat Rail Wheel Factory 4-3 in the `B' division football tournament here on Tuesday. Gopi struck thrice in the first half, in the 19th, 22nd and 26th minutes to register the first hat-trick of the tournament and later completed the tally in the 68th minute. Sriram (43rd), Sunoy Kumar (74th) and Calro (86th) struck for RWF.

MCC is champ

Mount Carmel College claimed the throwball title in the SPIEL inter-collegiate tournaments conducted here by the St. Joseph's College of Commerce Student Council. In the final, Mount Carmel defeated Jyothi Nivas College 25-17,25-15.

Other results: Men: Basketball: MSRIT bt St. Joseph's Evening College 50-19; RNSIT bt Seshadripuram 52-29. Volleyball (semifinals): SJCC bt Christ 25-23, 24-26, 25-21; New Horizon College bt SJASC 25-12, 25-19. Women: Softball: Mount Carmel bt SJCC 17-1.

Corporate cricket

The inter-corporate cricket tournament for TNT Cup will begin here on October 2. The proceeds from the tournament will be donated to the United Nation's World Food Programme. Entries close on September.15. Further details can be had from Chandrashekar Hari, EVENTZ (ph: 98450 69141).

HCA chess tournament

Hosur Chess Academy will conduct its monthly tournament for children at the Sree Ayyappa Temple hall, 27th cross, Jayanagaron on September 3. Interested players should report by 8.50 a.m. at the venue. Further details may be had from Jayapala Chandady (ph: 098431 71644).

Al-Ameen bags title

Al-Ameen College won the inter-collegiate volleyball tournament conducted by the Christ College beating Seshadripuram College 25-14, 25-21 in the final. Earlier in the semifinals, Al-Ameen beat Christ College 25-15, 25-10.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper