BANGALORE: S. Nirmal scored an unbeaten 62 (8 x4,1x6) to guide St. Joseph’s Indian HS (SJIHS) to a nine-wicket victory over Jain International Residential School in the Boost under-16 inter-school cricket tournament here on Monday. With this win, SJIHS has entered the semifinals.

Presidency School (R.T. Nagar) also made it to the last four by beating Frank Anthony Public School on better run-rate after rain hampered play.

The scores: Presidency School (R.T. Nagar) 172 in 46.3 overs (Mandeep Singh 41, Shimon Luiz five for 20) bt Frank Anthony PS 61 for eight in 33.3 overs (Presidency won on better run-rate).

Jain International 107 in 34.5 overs lost to St. Joseph’s Indian HS 108 for one in 23.2 overs (S. Nirmal 62 not out).

KSP does well

Karnataka State Police (KSP) bagged a double in the State Association Cup volleyball championship.

At the Basavanagudi Youth Club, Nettakalappa circle, KSP men recovered from a first set loss to prevail over Jindal Steel Works, Bellary, at 25-27, 25-18, 25-17, 26-24 while its women, the unquestionable champions of the State brushed aside the challenge from Mysore Sports Hostel 25-20, 25-21, 25-18 for an all-win record in the four team round robin league, for the title.

MEG defends title

Madras Engineering Group (MEG) retained the Senior State handball title, in the 31st edition of the championship, at Sagar in Shimoga with a 31-24 win over Karnataka State Police (KSP).

Sajeesh and M. Ali with seven goals each, excelled for the Sappers.

Big win

Young Star, Raichur, scored a thumping 5-1 win over Haveri HC in the State ‘C’ division hockey league at the KSHA stadium here on Monday.

Kalyan (2), Arvind, Melwin and Mithun scored for the winners while Manoj netted the consolation foal for Haveri.

In another match, State Bank of India snatched a late equaliser for a 3-3 draw against Kaveri Sports Club.

Former international C.S. Poonacha, Santosh and Uthaiah were on target for the bankmen while Kaveri SC got its goals through Ranju Muthappa (2) and Kiran Madaiah.

Junior throwball

The Association Cup State junior throwball championships for boys and girls will be conducted by the Amateur Throwball Association of Karnataka in the last week of October. Players born on or after January 1, 1991 are eligible. Entries close on October 26.

Entries may be sent to the Honorary Secretary, Amateur Throwball Association of Karanataka, Room No.51, Sree Kanteerava Stadium, Bangalore-01. For details, call 98440 48312 or 94486 20169.

Women’s basketball

The Indiranagar Basketball Club (IBBC) will conduct the 4th SMN memorial prize money state level women’s tournament at its courts in the first week of November. Entries close on October 25. For further details contact Naveen (9900575282), Dilip (9916833843) or C.S. Aravind (9242104927).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper